Chit Chat – December 2017

December was overall a good month for me. My students finished their fall PBL and I took 19 kids to the elementary to read their manuscripts. They loved it. I also had my observation, but it was on the day we had classes visiting for my students to present their manuscripts, so it won’t count. Perhaps if my appraiser had come in the actual legally required window, we’d be all done with it. (Yeah, a little salty.) I had a major upset with the yearbook program, and my kids and I are just like “Whatever.” I am so proud that I have a GREAT group of kids this year who are very supportive of one another.

I did receive some amazing and some disheartening medical news this month. I had an appointment with a new pulmonologist and he was phenomenal. My sleep study is scheduled and he is very adamant about addressing my needs and resolving my sleep issues. Finally some relief! I also scheduled an appointment with my PCP to start on anxiety medication. It was a big step that I have been talking about for months but kept chickening out on. I finally had enough and made the appointment. When I went for the appointment, my doc backtracked to my bloodwork from October. My A1C was 6.5. He diagnosed me with diabetes and put me on cholesterol medication. I went back the following week for an anxiety medication. Another relief!

During the holidays I slept A LOT. It was marvelous. I spent a lot of time snuggling with my two pups. Baby was diagnosed with arthritis, ironically in one of her front legs. I was amazed that Cera didn’t destroy anything while she was home alone for Baby’s vet visit. I think she is finally learning! She has also figured out how to ask to go outside to go potty instead of sneaking off to do it in the house.

This was the first Christmas I actually got to spend with The Man. He always flies home to Boston for the month. Our holidays were low-key and simple. He got both of us FitBits and I have been tracking different things, like my sleep and food. I got some other practical gifts, like a fuzzy bathrobe and the pregnancy pillow! No…we are not pregnant. The Man got it in an attempt to better my sleep – and my snoring! I have liked it for the most part. Often I’ll lay in bed at night reading or playing my game before going to bed, and it’s perfect because I have a pillow on each side to support both my arms on and can relax a little more. The Man says he thinks it’s helping with the snoring as it’s been much quieter most nights.

We went on our 2.5 mile walk every other night in the cold weather. Even though I hate the cold, it was very invigorating!

@sissybearla

Average Rating:     4.0
Pages Read:             1,405
Favorite Book:       Hope at Christmas

October Visits – 1,097 | November Visits – 1,547 | December – 1,082

Sunday Posts:

Week of Writing | Observation Done | I’m Going Through the Big D and Don’t Mean Dallas | The Christmas Edition | Happy New Year 

Reviews:

Mistletoe at Moonglow | Heat It Up | Snowed  | Christmas at Two Love Lane | Chocolate Kisses and Love Filled WishesDeck the Halls | A Season of You | No Place Like You | Hope at Christmas

Other Bookish Posts:

November Chit Chat | Bookish Settings I’d Love to Visit | Favorite Books of 2017 |  I Hope Santa Brings… | Book Blogger Hop 12.22.17

My Favorites:

Christmas Tradition | Thing About 2017

Famous Last Words:

FML#35 | FML#36 | FML #37 | FML #38

HOHOHOWhile I only met one of my challenge goals, I did fairly well on several others. I was disappointed I didn’t meet my Goodreads goal this year, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles. I did read a fair number of my holiday reads, and I was impressed with my numbers for NetGalley. I hoped to get to 35 books (and I would have if I’d met my Goodreads goal), but I’ve got a plan for my 2018 challenges in place. I’ll be saying goodbye to the Shelf Love challenge while adding a few new ones that help me focus more on my main goals.

This is the first big batch of books I’m reading for 2018. I spent some time thinking about it and put them in an order I want to read in so I’m not wasting time later trying to decide.

 

How were your holidays? Did you make resolutions for the new year?  

6 thoughts on “Chit Chat – December 2017

  1. It sounds like you had a lovely, relaxing Christmas with your man. I love the tree ornament you got to mark it being the first Christmas that you spent together. I have an ornament that we were bought for our first Christmas married and I treasure it, it makes me smile every year when I put it on the tree. You did well with your reading challenges, I think it’s hard to complete a lot of goals sometimes but reading some things from each challenge is always a good thing. I hope you read some amazing books in 2018!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.