My Favorite…Christmas Tradition

My Favorite.. is a weekly meme hosted by Maureen’s Books. In this meme we share every week something we love with each other. Because let’s face it.. The world can be a dark place and it’s time to share something positive.


Christmas Tradition

When I was growing up, we had a Christmas tradition to go out the day after Thanksgiving into our pasture and find our Christmas tree. We would traipse all around with the saw until we found the right one, cut it down, and bring it back to the house. Usually, we would have a train of cows following us around because they thought they would get something, like a cube.

Now that I’m older and don’t live at home anymore, it’s just a tradition from my childhood. Now as an adult, I don’t really have any Christmas traditions.

 

What is your favorite Christmas tradition? 

12 thoughts on “My Favorite…Christmas Tradition

  1. We would all pile in the car the weekend after Thanksgiving and drive to this fun tree farm. We’d take a horse drawn ride out to the trees and cut down the one we wanted. They had this cute gift shop and tables where you could sit and enjoy hot gingerbread cookies and cider.

  2. We have so many, and they are all favorites! I miss one of our Christmas Eve traditions: after reading the Christmas story from Luke, we would sing carols. The evening ended with putting everyone to bed by candlelight, youngest to oldest, while we all sang ‘Silent Night’. It was a lovely tradition, but sort of disappeared when we started going to midnight services on Christmas Eve. Another tradition (which I won’t give up) is the scene: a series of miniature villages, some made by my uncle, set out under the tree on boxes draped in sheets (for snow), with a lot of small figurines interspersed. We don’t worry too much about scale, and the total effect is charming.

    • Those are lovely traditions! When we lived in the old house before moving back to the family homestead, my mother would set out the nativity set and her village with all of the figurines she’d collected. I loved it. It’s all packed away still even after all these years. I thought about starting my own collection and was shocked by how expensive it will be just to collect a few pieces today. For a few years my mom and I would go to midnight services and I found it so peaceful to sit in the darkened church lit by candles.

  3. That’s a wonderful Christmas tradition to remember. My family on did the “real” Christmas tree once when I was a kid, and we have an artificial tree now as adults.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.