Sunday Post ~ The Week of Testing

0abf9b9e-b7ac-4d59-b451-7eb7c64ea1b9_zps47hi5hueThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.


Date night at the Riverwalk was lovely! This is the home of the Alamo, the place where Selena got proposed to, and where the pageant portion of Ms. Congeniality was filmed. The man had never been, so it was a treat for him. We ended up going later in the evening, so I didn’t get to take him through the Alamo or visit all of the places along the Riverwalk. I had wanted to go visit the Tower of Americas, but it was really late when we left. Next time! However, the restaurant we ate at was very poor quality. The man got pretty peeved when we discovered mold on my food. I was shocked that my meal was not comped. We went on the final riverboat ride of the night, and we had the funniest tour guide. It was cool breezes and a twinkly light ride.

I also have some (sorta) big news to share! My previous biopsy came back good – for the first time in five years! I went on Monday for my 6 month check up and I’m waiting on those results. I spoke a little more in depth with my doctor about what we would do next and why my cells have not regenerated correctly, which should have happened within two years. She said that flare ups are possible, due to stress, lack of sleep, and diet. I’ve never found this before in my research, and it explains everything. For the first time in my adult-ish life, I am not in a bad relationship, and I’m not in friend drama, and I’m not in a financial rut. Things are good everywhere.

I’ve been a little lax in sharing photos lately, so here are some from the last couple of weeks. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And now, a vote! 

This year I started the new feature Famous Last Words, which runs every third Thursday. I’ve been debating moving this to twice a week, and then I thought about weekly. Let me know what you think. Take the poll and leave a comment below!

 

 ~ Last Week  on G1000W ~

Monday was a little overloaded this past week!

~ This Week on G1000W ~

  • Monday
    • Cover Characteristic ~ Bathrooms
    • Review ~ A Buss From Lafayette
    • Blast ~ Killer Pursuit
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ Books for History Buffs
    • First Chapter First Paragraph ~
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
    • Blast ~ The Howling Heart
  • Thursday
    • ? TBD
  • Friday
    • Feature Follow Friday ~ First Character Description

~ New Arrivals to Land of 1000 Wonders ~

24934065Despite my self-imposed rule of anti-hype, after seeing Rebel of the sands on EVERYONE’S Top Ten Tuesday posts this past week, and again in another post (I think a review), I could not not buy it. So I did. 🙂

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

~ Around Town in the Spotlight ~

 ~ Open Giveaways ~

The Sore Prickly Bear | Silenced in the Surf

7 thoughts on “Sunday Post ~ The Week of Testing

  1. Ahhh, I hope you enjoy Rebel of the Sands! IT IS SO VERY GLORIOUS. And so funny. Plus I never find epic fantasies that actually have guns and things in them?! It’s all swords, which are awesome, but I love me some explosions. xD
    Ew to the mouldy food and no refund? Whaaaat. That seems horribly wrong!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

  2. So so glad things are good for you! Also, Baby is SO freaking cute — reminds me of our dog Molly (but she’s brown and white)

  3. Your date night sounds great, but more exciting is your biopsy news. I’m glad that’s all positive AND that you’re feeling positive about everything! Yay!

  4. I’m glad things are going so well for you, Charlie! That’s wonderful news. And I’m glad date night went well despite the hiccups. I *love* the shark socks!! Those are adorable. 🙂 Enjoy your week and happy reading!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.