WWW Wednesdays (April 6)

 img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

I didn’t have a post last week. I was still reading the same book, nothing had changed, and I just couldn’t be bothered.

6372667I started reading Liberty Frye and the Sails of Fate for the upcoming review tour. My review is scheduled for April 25. This is a new series to me, so I’m interested to see if this would be a good middle grades book for my students. This is the second book in the series.

On the morning of her eleventh birthday, nothing feels particularly celebratory to Liberty Frye. As if being a witch in training isn’t confusing enough, her mother’s mysterious illness has grown worse overnight and her best-friend-turned-foster-sister Ginny is driving her crazy.

Then there’s the matter of the new invention that Uncle Frank has brought to her surprise party. When her freaky powers accidentally activate it, Libby and her unsuspecting party guests are transported into an ocean of darkness. Literally. Soon, they’re running – or rather, sailing – for their lives, chasing after clues while dodging angry islanders and makeshift spells gone awry.

If they have any hope of finding their way home, Libby knows she must confront the dark forces bent on deciding their future. But what she doesn’t know is … how?

15997095I also started listening to The Reluctant Assassin (W.A.R.P. #1) on audiobook in preparation for this summer’s new SYNC releases.

​The reluctant assassin is Riley, a Victorian boy who is suddenly plucked from his own time and whisked into the twenty-first century, accused of murder and on the run.

Riley has been pulled into the FBI’s covert W.A.R.P. operation (Witness Anonymous Relocation Program). He and young FBI Agent Chevie Savano are forced to flee terrifying assassin-for-hire Albert Garrick, who pursues Riley through time and will not stop until he has hunted him down. Barely staying one step ahead, Riley and Chevie must stay alive and stop Garrick returning to his own time with knowledge and power that could change the world forever.

108077I am reading two books with my students at school. The Watsons Go to Birmingham – 1963 is a reread (although I don’t have it marked as read on Goodreads). It is an amazing book with cultural relevance. There is also a film adaption and it stays very true to the book. I have shown the film to my students for the last two years concluding our reading, and it is phenomenal. The kids’ reactions – even though they’ve read the book – and seeing real footage from the civil rights marches is something to behold.

The Newbery Honor-winning American classic, The Watsons Go to Birmingham–1963 , celebrates 20 years with this anniversary edition featuring a special letter from Christopher Paul Curtis and an introduction by noted educator Dr. Pauletta Bracy.
Enter the hilarious world of ten-year-old Kenny and his family, the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan. There’s Momma, Dad, little sister Joetta, and brother Byron, who’s thirteen and an “official juvenile delinquent.” When Momma and Dad decide it’s time for a visit to Grandma, Dad comes home with the amazing Ultra-Glide, and the Watsons set out on a trip like no other. They’re heading South to Birmingham, Alabama, toward one of the darkest moments in America’s history.

23302416With my “homeroom” students I am reading Wonder. This is part of a city-wide project, and my city is even hosting a Wonder Run in a few weeks. We have been reading on Wonder for a while (since we only meet once a week), but I haven’t included it yet. It is a very powerful and moving book about bullying and the internal thoughts and feelings of someone who is different, of someone who is bullied. We also see the insight into a relative of such a person.

You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August Pullman wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things. He eats ice cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary – inside.

But Auggie is far from ordinary. Ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go.

Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, he’s being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted – but can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all?

Narrated by Auggie and the people around him whose lives he touches forever, Wonder is a funny, frank, astonishingly moving debut to read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.


 What did you just finish reading?

Code Name Verity and A Buss from Lafayette have been finished! It only took me a whole month to listen to Code Name Verity, but it was SUCH a good book. I highly recommend to everyone. My heart broke and I might have been keening and wailing in the bathroom to avoid the man hearing me when the book reached THE most pivotal part, and I might have thought my own heart was shattering into a million pieces.

Look for reviews in the next two weeks!


What do you think you’ll read next?

This category is broken up into two separate sections. Y’all have been seeing the same books down here for weeks months now, and most of them have been TBR Jar books, but I’ve been receiving several review tour books recently.

TBR Jar Books 

I’ve decided to sneak these books in pre-TBR Jar. I planned on reading these first, so I didn’t put them in my TBR Jar, but they basically go in the jar. These are books I want to read up on to clear out my Kindle. The first on my list of to-read’s is to get The Money Tree off of my backlog.

Review Tour Books

These are my upcoming review tour books from the end of April through May.


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (April 6)

    • Diana, I teach 6th grade language arts (both on level and advanced), as well as the only section of creative writing offered at my school, and two intervention groups. These kids don’t know how good they have it! Over the years a few have transferred to the other middle school, and then transferred back because of the teachers we have.

  1. Wonder was one of my favorite reads last year; such a good book with a strong message! I’m glad you enjoyed Cody Name Verity… I’ve had that one on my wishlist for way too long now. I hope you’ll enjoy your books this week!

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

  2. I didn’t know Colfer had another series. I was familiar with Artemis Fowl and his Adams book but this one is new to me. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

