Sunday Post ~ Jury Duty and the Tax Office Fiasco

0abf9b9e-b7ac-4d59-b451-7eb7c64ea1b9_zps47hi5hueThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.


The week started out mixed. Jury duty was alright, besides the busybody woman next to me who kept telling me what I could and couldn’t do while all 200+ of us were still seated outside the courtroom and getting checked in. We were waiting forever; I could have gotten 3 or 4 chapters read! The judge was super cool, and I could tell she was definitely a religious person because she kept saying “blessed.” Due to being a teacher – and this week being STAAR testing in Texas – I was excused.

Since I was in the area and I had to get it done by the end of March anyway, I ran over to the tax office to get my vehicle registration completed because for whatever reason it would not let me do so online. And I was told that I had to get my vehicle inspected again, even though I just got it done at the very end of November, when it was due! I was pretty pissed and got in an argument with the clerk. I followed the law, and have to redo and repay for a service that IS truly valid? If I had NOT had my inspection done before November was over and been pulled over by an officer, I would have received a fine for an invalid registration – and in some counties my car would’ve been impounded! I was freaking pissed. I was more pissed when I went back to my dealership where I have everything done on my car, and they pretended they knew nothing of this law when they completed my inspection in November, and had to repay for an inspection I didn’t need. Then drive back to the tax office to find out the new “inspection fee” as part of my registration renewal is the remainder of the price for the inspection that the state now collects, and my inspection fee would only have been $7 (supposedly) if I had done it in-county. I walked out having paid three times for one thing. I was pretty freaking pissed.

My students presented their projects this week. Some did very well, and some did not so very great. You can definitely tell who put in the effort and who horsed around all project long. Grades will be all over the place this semester.

Yesterday the new couch was delivered, and this time for real the man and I are going to the River Walk. TODAY. 🙂

 ~ Last Week  on G1000W ~

~ This Week on G1000W ~

  • Monday
    • Cover Characteristic ~ ?
    • Review ~ Lumberjanes Vol. I
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ Bookish People to Stalk
    • First Chapter First Paragraph ~ A Buss from Lafayette
    • Blast ~ AFTER
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday
    • Thoughts on Thursday ~ ? TBR
  • Friday
    • Feature Follow Friday ~ Seven Word Memoir Descriptions

~ New Arrivals to Land of 1000 Wonders ~

24934065Despite my self-imposed rule of anti-hype, after seeing Rebel of the sands on EVERYONE’S Top Ten Tuesday posts this past week, and again in another post (I think a review), I could not not buy it. So I did. 🙂

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

~ Around Town in the Spotlight ~

 ~ Open Giveaways ~

The Sore Prickly Bear | Silenced in the Surf | Lost Souls

18 thoughts on “Sunday Post ~ Jury Duty and the Tax Office Fiasco

  1. I know this is silly but I’m an attorney and I want want want to be on jury duty! Just to be on that other side of it — I know how to pick a jury but I’ve never got to be a juror. That being said, given the importance of your profession, glad you were excused!!

    Thanks for the mention!

    • I wanted to serve because I do want to sit on a jury and go through that experience. The judge was very cool and her big proponent was that she did not want people’s jobs, families or schedules (day care, sleep, medicine) negatively impacted. I hope I get a chance to do so again!

  2. I don’t blame you for being angry about the inspection fiasco. I’d have been livid. To counterbalance the annoyance, I hope you did get to go to River Walk today, and that it was a beautiful day. 🙂

    Nice cover on Rebel of the Sands! I’ve been seeing that around the blogosphere, too. I haven’t decided whether to read it yet or not. There are so many other books on my TBR list already!

    Have a wonderful week, and I hope things go more smoothly for you. And enjoy that new couch!

    • Yes. Each state here has their processes set up differently, but the way it used to work here in Texas was you have one-year stickers for your car inspection, and then also for your registration. As long as you take care of those before they expire, you’re good to go. Now they have changed the entire process and haven’t really released and publicized this new information.

  3. That is awesome you got released from jury duty! Sorry about the nightmare with your car registration, but I feel like that always happens with that stuff! I haven’t read Rebel of the Sands, but have seen a lot of great reviews. Happy Reading!

  4. I got Rebel in the Sands, too, Charlie!! It was in my monthly bookbox 🙂
    I get so pissed at clerks working in different official capacities who are unable to just use logic :O I guess you won’t use that garage for your vehicle inspection anymore, huh?
    Grades all over the place sometimes confuse me… but it happens with me, too. I have some students who think everything is funny… until they get their grade 😉
    Have a great week and happy reading.

    • Oh, I have several friends who think everything is funny. Or that rules don’t apply to them. Then those progress reports get emailed…Mine have been working on projects – some more than others, so it will show in their grades. Some have been doing a fantastic job, some mediocre, and some hardly anything. From now on I will be getting my inspection done in-county to avoid having top double pay taxes.

  5. How aggravating! One of the reasons I like pulling jury duty is because I can read–sounds like you didn’t have that chance thanks to the talkative woman next to you. 😦 What a mess with the tax clerk about your vehicle registration and inspection. I would have been livid too. What a waste of your time and money!

    Rebel of the Sands is one I’ve been watching for. I have heard mixed reviews about it, but it sure sounds good!

    How was the River Walk? I am glad you finally were able to go. I hope you enjoy the rest of your week!

    • She was a busybody. After I put away my Kindle, she then started going on about my drink – that I had JUST bought. We weren’t in the courtroom; now I know to ignore while waiting! The River Walk was wonderful, except for one thing. Our entire night will be in the Sunday Post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

