Thoughts on Thursday: Lack of Creativity

2016-Discussion-Challenge

Lack of Creativity

I haven’t posted a discussion post in over a month. I have a draft saved with prompt examples that I have used in the past, but I can’t be bothered to look at it.

I haven’t felt like I’ve been very creative on the blog in months, and I think everything is catching up with me and imploding. I don’t want to think of new ideas, new content. I don’t even want to write reviews. I have been lacking in the creativity department for a long while.

I feel like I got a little bit of that back with Parajunkee’s Summertime challenge. I loved this post and this one. Once I got started it wasn’t very hard, but I’m dragging my feet about everything blog right now. The only thing I am able to do is keep up with my weekly features, and that’s just barely.

Am I in a blogging slump? Is this what it feels like? Or am I just not motivated? Is

I have seen two different features around that are less book-focused and I think I might join one of them. I’m hoping that will help.

 

What do you do to get inspired?

How do you handle blogging slumps?

16 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday: Lack of Creativity

  1. I try and sketch out some new ideas and that normally gets me feeling more motivated. I haven’t gone to far off of bookish stuff though but I’ve been thinking about it! Good luck busting out of your slump and getting motivated again. With as much stuff as you’ve had going on with the end of school and all I wouldn’t beat yourself up too much about it.

  2. The last time I was in a blogging slump, I just took a break from blogging. My blog is a hobby, not a job, and I donโ€™t want to force myself to work on it if Iโ€™m not having fun. I think itโ€™s perfectly okay to say, โ€œI donโ€™t feel like blogging,โ€ and take a step back. All of my slumps have ended eventually.

  3. I’m very new at blogging and thus hasn’t been in a slump. YET. But I know it’s coming…. but blogging is writing and writing is creative and creativity comes from creative juices that comes from fruit that grows on a tree in a garden that we are not allowed to enter. By invitation, or as the wind blows, only. I strongly suspect the tree that grows money might be in that same garden. Sometimes you run out of juice and the wind doesn’t blow so you can catch a few seeds. Just wait. It will blow again and the gates will open again. So what to do in the meantime? Read a book WITHOUT thinking of the review or feedback…. just for yourself.

  4. Shannon has a great post on slumps here — in the event of a slump, I just take a break. I don’t try to kill myself writing a discussion post I don’t feel so I just wait until I’m in the mood. Hope your slump ends soon!!

  5. I go through periods like that sometimes, too. I guess I just wait it out, and post what I can. I’m also trying to build up a cushion of fun or thoughtful posts (finished but not posted) that aren’t time sensitive, so I can pull one out when I’m feeling really stuck for ideas. I hope you find something that fires you up and gets you excited about blogging again!

  6. I mostly just wait for the slump to end. Usually I have enough posts scheduled in advance that not writing some for awhile isn’t a huge deal. (Actually, I haven’t wanted to blog much lately either.) Unfortunately I don’t have any other words of wisdom.

  7. I hate blogging slumps! My best advice for getting out of slumps is to read other blogs. I know that sounds simple, but for me it usually works. Bloggers inspire me with their creativity. Some people suggest taking a break from blogging, but I can never seen to do that without falling even further behind (of my own self induced schedule). I usually just spend a day reading other blogs and then I feel so inspired I can’t wait to get back to my own site.
    I think every blogger goes through this. I hope you find your way out of it. Good luck!

  8. Give yourself grace. Your soul might need time to refuel for the coming school year, and that’s okay. You are a gifted blogger and you will want to do it again soon, I have no doubt.

    Thanks for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com!
    Tina

  9. Ah, the classic blogging slump. It happens to all of us eventually. Sometimes you just go through a period where you feel uninspired. If it makes you feel better, I usually come up with great ideas after a slump – I think both the Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up and the Birthday & Blogoversary Calendar were born after slumps!

Leave a Reply

