WWW Wednesdays (June 24)

WWW_Wednesdays4

This is a weekly meme hosted by MizB @ Should Be Reading. To join in, click on the image above, and answer the following three questions.


What are you currently reading? 

I’m squeezing this one in before I get to my next tour book. A Time for Everything is a historical romance, which I love! So far, it has proven quite interesting and humorous.

After losing her husband and only child to the ravages of the Civil War, twenty-five-year-old Portia McAllister is drowning in grief. When she sees an ad for a live-in tutor in another town, she leaves everything behind in hopes of making a fresh start. But as a Confederate widow in a Union household, she is met with resentment from her new charge and her employer, war veteran Beau Stanford.

Despite their differences, she and Beau find common ground and the stirrings of a second chance at love—until his late wife’s cousin, Lydia, arrives with her sights set on him. Burdened with a farm on the brink of bankruptcy, Beau is tempted by Lydia’s hefty dowry, though Portia has captured his heart.

I snagged a FREE audiobook of Great Expectations (narrated by Anton Lesser) to complete my Classic square on my bingo card. I listened to about 1/3 of the book the first day, but I haven’t picked it back up since.

This is my second attempt with this book. I originally started reading it for 9th or 10th grade AP English (summer reading) and just could not do it.

I’m not sure if audiobooks are the thing for me, as I didn’t enjoy it overly much. To give credit, I was furiously cleaning – that was the day I noticed Baby had fleas from the vet – but I’m also not digging the narrator. Hopefully it’s just the narrator (sorry, Anton!). I want to like audiobooks…if only to help out my reading numbers. 😉

How do you get these free audiobooks? Find out here.


 What did you just finish reading?

I finished A Batter of Life and Death and I think I like it even more than the first in the series. I can’t decide – it’s a close call.

Jules is still in her hometown of Ashland, where she and her mother operate the family bakeshop, Torte. It is a local hot spot and has landed Jules a new opportunity to promote the bakeshop by competing on a pastry reality show. The $25,000 prize money would definitely help out Torte, but Jules quickly learns that some would kill for that kind of dough.

You can read my review of the first book in the series, Meet Your Baker.

Look for my review of A Batter of Life and Death in early July.


 What do you think you’ll read next?

Last week I said this would be my next read, but I need a quick breather in between tour books. I loved the last one, but it took a lot out of me and I need some recoup time with a favorite genre.

I have the feeling that Teresa of the New World is going to be an intense read. I don’t know why, but every time I look at the cover or read the synopsis, I get this foreboding that it’s going to be much more than I’m expecting. I am excited to read about the historical aspect and time period. That’s right up my alley, and a time period I haven’t read too much about.

 


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (June 24)

  1. I need to try Great Expectations on audio. I tried it book form and got about 1/3 done before I bogged down. I think audio would push me past that. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Batter of Life and Death! I loved the first one and I’ve got this one coming up in the next week and have really been looking forward to it but there’s always that fear the 2nd book won’t list up to the 1st.

    • That’s where I am – about 1/3 of the way through with the audiobook.

      I was worried about the second book – how could they pull of a series of murders in such a small place? I think I liked the second better than the first. I feel Jules opened up a whole lot more with her inner feelings. I don’t know if that’s just my perception, or if it is a better statement compared to how she was in the first book. I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

