Book Blogger Hop ~ 8.18.17

book-blogger-hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week poses a book-related question. The hop starts on Friday and ends on Thursday. The purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers.


When you enter an unfamiliar house or apartment for the first time, do you feel disappointed if you don’t see any bookshelves, or books on the coffee table? (submitted by Maria @ A Night’s Dream of Books)

Honestly, I don’t think most people have what was considered in the 70-90s as coffee tables, at least not “coffee table books.” When I enter someone’s house for the first time, I really am not looking for bookshelves. I’m looking for weird stuff – and yes, I’m judging their state of living. It can say a lot. For example, if you’d entered my apartment years ago when I was engaged, you would have seen an electronic cavern. It was the ultimate tricked-out man cave because D thought that is what earned him social status. In a cramped corner, you would have found my bookcase, all blocked off. Also very representative of our relationship and finances. See? You learn a lot.

I will say, though, that of all the homes I’ve been in since a child…I don’t ever recall seeing a bookcase except at my uncle’s house with all his technical books. That’s what’s sad, huh?

11 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop ~ 8.18.17

  1. From my house you can tell right away a child lives there and she’s probably spoiled rotten. LOL

    We don’t even have a coffee table in our house anymore. And definitely no coffee table books.

  2. I don’t know that I look for them, but when I do see books or books on the coffee table I do get excited and browse the titles looking for common ground. I do notice neatness. I don’t white glove them, but last weeks pizza box and dirty dishes scattered will make me cringe a little..especially if I was expected.

Leave a Reply

