Thoughts on Thursday: Why I Read What I Read

Why I Read What I Read

Why do you read the books you read? Explore why you gravitate towards certain genres and/or authors. How do you pick the next book you will read?

In general, I think I enjoy a wide variety of genres. There are a few I look at with sideeye, and a few I won’t even look at. I tend to gravitate to historical and romance the most. Those are the two foundations of my childhood, thanks to Little House on the Prairie and Harlequin Romance. I am also always up for a good middle grades read or murder mystery. I have shied away from YA in general due to the copious amount of tropes and love triangles. I also enjoy writing styles, so I will pick up books by authors with similar styles (such as Kristin Hannah and Elin Hilderbrand). In the last couple of years I have tried to broaden my horizons and I think I did a pretty good job.

Now that I think about it, the majority of my reading palatte comes from my relationship with my grandmother (except the romance). She was my confidant as a child. I spent more time with her than any other person. We watched the Little House on the Prairie series starring Michael Landon (my first book boyfriend). We watched a lot of comedy shows (All in the Family, Three’s Company, Family Matters, The Facts of Life), and all of the mystery shows we could (Murder She Wrote, Matlock, In the Heat of the Night, Magnum P.I., Diagnosis Murder).

I am proud of myself that I have been trying to get better about listening to audiobooks. I know most people listen while they commute, but I enjoy singing when I drive. I kind of have to in order to stay calm with the ignoramuses on the road these days. I listen when I’m working on the blog, cooking, or cleaning. While I don’t finish that many (I think this year I’ve finished three), I learned I can change the speed and won’t have to spend as long listening. These are typically books that have been out for a while and count for this challenge! I started downloading SYNC books three summers ago, so I have plenty to choose from!

Since I started my blog, I didn’t really “pick” my next book. They were always scheduled because I thought I couldn’t say “no” to an author (and also didn’t know I should shut down review requests). I still have a handful of books from repeat authors to read, but I am now at the point where I can actually pick my next read. I really do think I pick my next read based on cover love. If it’s pretty or interesting, I’ll start it. I don’t really have any type of system. I’m not really a mood reader like some people, either.

 

How do you pick out what you read? Are there certain genres you gravitate toward?

10 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday: Why I Read What I Read

  1. My grandmother has been a big influence on my reading as well. She’s a huge reader and has always been drawn to mysteries which has been my go-to genre my hold reading life. I do listen to audios when I’m driving but I like to sing too so I do mix it up a bit depending on what I feel like doing. I love audios for housework though. They’re great for folding laundry, cleaning bathtubs, and organizing closets and any task that takes forever but doesn’t require much thought. Interesting about you not being a mood reader. I’m not really either but it does seem like most people are. For the most part my next book is chosen based off blogging needs. I first go to ARCs that are coming out each month and after that I look at genres. Like if I know Monday will be a cozy mystery review I try to make Wednesday romance or nonfiction or something else just to mix it up a bit. Great topic!

  2. I like to sing while driving too. 🙂 Right now, I am reading for tours, but once I finish those two books (and my mail book group), I can go back to choosing what I want to read when I want to read it. Sometimes I really struggle with what to read next because so many books sound good to me at any given moment. I freeze and can’t decide. I read a wide variety and my reading mood often will make me lean in one direction or another.

    I think my love for historical storylines comes from my dad. My strong sense of justice, interest in human behavior and motivation, and love for puzzles add to the appeal of crime fiction for me. I’m not sure why I love fantasy novels so much–maybe husband’s influence? Although I was drawn to it before him too, maybe just not as much. Certain topics or genres appeal to me for different reasons. It’s hard to pinpoint why sometimes.

    Great topic!

  3. I pick my next read based on whatever I find on my kindle that looks like I’ll enjoy it right now… I’m a mood reader, and I’m very bad at keeping up with a schedule for my ARCs. I kind of do keep up, but not on purpose, if you know what I mean 😉
    I am pretty much a genre omnivore, but I tend to read a lot of romance. There’s just something nice about having the HEA at the end of a story.

  4. I’ve gotten to where I have so many favorite prolific authors, I can hardly keep up with all they are putting out! Thank you for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com this week.
    Tina

Leave a Reply

