Sunday Post ~ A Short Respite

0abf9b9e-b7ac-4d59-b451-7eb7c64ea1b9_zps47hi5hueThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.


Remember, there are free audiobooks all summer long! Sign up for the text alerts to remember to grab them each week! All you need is an Overdrive account.

I am excited about something adult-y! I have to admit, every month it comes time to pay the bills, I have a stressful few days. One of the effects of my engagement was accruing a lot of debt. I got him out of debt twice, and then I was stuck in it. A LOT of it. As a residual after-effect of said former engagement, I split the debt I had accrued (you know, paying for an empty apartment in Austin as well as establishing a new residence) in a balance transfer to a new credit card with zero interest and consolidated the remainder into a personal loan. I am proud to say I have that credit card paid off! I also only owe $350 on my computer I had to buy in January when the other one gave me the black finger of doom. This was the first time I haven’t had a mini panic attack agonizing over payments. Teachers don’t get paid enough. :/

You might have noticed I wasn’t around very much this past week. Posts still went up, but I was MIA. That’s because the man and I (and Baby) were on vacation! We didn’t make any solid plans because we were kind of expecting his vacation to be cancelled with all of the policies that have gone into effect since the Dallas police shooting.

Since I have to be up bright and early to take my yearbook kids to our workshop, I’m holding out on pictures and such. I’ll try to get a post up this week. Maybe. We teachers go back on Thursday, so there’s not telling what I will get done this week.

 ~ Last Week  on G1000W ~

 

~ This Week on G1000W ~

  • Monday
    • Cover Characteristic ~ Smiley Face
    • Review ~ Wonder
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ Characters I Wish Were Family
    • First Chapter First Paragraph ~ O’er the River Liffey
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday
    • Famous Last Words #14
  •  Friday
    • Feature Follow Friday ~ My Book Betrayal Story

 

~ Instagram~

Y’all, I am not going to life. Bookstagram is time-consuming and overwhelming, but I do want to share little tidbits of life with you every once in a while…you know, while I learn and practice. 🙂

Follow me! (@sissybearla)

~ Reading Now~

I started reading Regarding Anna last week. I was really excited for this read, but honestly I am getting tripped up by the writing. It is so convuluted and I feel it is distracting and detracting from the story. Is it possible for an author’s writing style to get in the way of the actual story? That’s how I feel about this one right now.

I also decided to give my audiobooks some life after a month and a half off. I know I won’t have as much time to read with the demands of school coming up and taking over my life, so I figured it was time to break out another one. Dodger is a very interesting story and I am enjoying the characters.

 

~ New Arrivals ~

200

 ~ Open Giveaways ~

The SockKids Say NO to Bullying | Love & Other Disasters Contest | Always You

13 thoughts on “Sunday Post ~ A Short Respite

  1. Yay on the getting out of debt! My husband was left with a bunch after his divorce and it felt so great when we got it all paid off and were FREE! The vacation sounds wonderful too and very well deserved. I hope you’re feeling all nice and refreshed – at least for a little bit. That’s too bad about Regarding Anna. I do love the cover and I want the inside to match! Have a great week!

  2. Yes, teachers are not paid or respected enough in this country. And good for you on getting rid of debt on such a poor salary. Struggling with debt is such a bummer. Now I’m off to follow you on Instagram!

  3. And thank you for the link to the audio books! Next week’s download has been on my TBR/Wishlist all summer. And I shared a link to your page on FB so that all my English teacher friends are aware of this program. It might be to late for them this year, but there is always next year.

  4. I hope you had a wonderful vacation. I can’t wait to see the pictures. 🙂 Great news about getting some of those bills paid off! It always seems like when we do, something happens that makes us go in debt again. Vet bills, car repairs, major appliances giving out . . . It’s always nice when we have a respite from something major happening!

    I hope your week is a good one and that Thursday goes well!

Leave a Reply

