WWW Wednesdays (June 15)

 img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

 

cover84875-mediumI decided to lay off audiobooks for the week (see why below) and started a new book on my Kindle. I have my hands on the next installment in the Bakeshop Mystery series by Ellie Alexander! The last one was really good! The new book is called Caught Bread Handed.

Welcome to Torte—a friendly, small-town family bake shop where the oven is heating up as high as the body count…

Jules Capshaw is still chewing over her husband Carlos’s return to Ashland, Oregon. Could there be too many cooks in the kitchen? Whatever is stirring between those two will have to wait. Despite the Oregon Shakespeare Festival being dark for the winter, the bakeshop is bustling, the dough is rolling, and there’s no rest for the weary…especially when murder is thrown into the mix.

When Mindy Nolan, the owner of a new restaurant in town, turns up dead, the batter at hand thickens. Jules knows that there was bad blood between Mindy and others in town, and tracking down the killer could prove to be an unwelcome treat. And to top it all off, there’s Carlos, who is pleading—with those delicious dark eyes and sexy Spanish accent—for Jules to take him back. Is home where the heart is or will she make a fresh start…and risk getting burned?

I have my copy of Wonder that I need to finish up reading. I need to still go back to two or three sections and then read the ending. My goal is to get that done this week!


 What did you just finish reading?

I finally finished The Reluctant Assassin (W.A.R.P. #1) by Eoin Colfer! I also learned how to pronounce his name. It’s “Owen” spelled differently. He is responsible for the crazy name spelling trend!!

I also finished It’s In His Smile. I reviewed it yesterday. I will say it wasn’t erotic in the sense of 50 Shades, but the characters’ internal dialogue was very risque.

Since I finally finished audiobook (yay!) of The Reluctant Assassin, I started a new one. This summer I am still retrieving the two free audiobooks from Audiobook SYNC, so I need to keep working on the old ones I have. But I have a question for those who are familiar with Overdrive: How do you delete audiobooks you are finished with?

The new audiobook I started was Anne of Green Gables. I remember reading this as a child at some point (probably after I discovered Little House on the Prairie) but I don’t remember too terribly much about it. Listening to the opening chapter, I couldn’t help but think the story could be a movie with Mary Lennox (The Secret Garden) style narration mixed with a BBC TV mystery mini series cinematography feel to it. And then after two days I finished it!


What do you think you’ll read next?

This category is broken up into two separate sections. I’m making progress through my Review Tour Books! Then it’s on to my TBR Jar!

TBR Jar Books 

These are still my pre-TBR Jar reads that I will be getting to after I read my two review tour books. I’m not going to take on any more review tours unless it is an author I have read before and I really like the book.

Then the TBR Jar will really start…six months later. Someone recommended The Earl’s New Bride to be the first, but I promised Helen I’d read her book back at Christmastime…after having it for two or so years.

Review Tour Books

These are my review books for June and July. I didn’t get them all knocked out last week, but I got half of them finished! I’ll finish these before the month is out. It’ll feel so great!


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

17 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (June 15)

  1. Was the Reluctant Assassin done well in audio? I think it’ll be available for me tomorrow. And don’t blame the awful spelling trend on poor Eoin, it’s just the Irish spelling! 😛

    Re Overdrive, when you go into that screen that lists the titles you have out, there’s a button next to the title that’s three dots in a vertical line. Tap that and you’ll get a menu including “return items to library” or something like that. I hope that makes sense.

    Here’s my post for this week: https://keysandopenmind.wordpress.com/2016/06/15/www-and-wippet-wednesday-15-june-2016-2/

    • I did not know that was the Irish spelling! How interesting! I’ve wondered for years how to say his name. Who knew it took an audiobook to tell me? 🙂

      Thanks for the help with Overdrive. Each time I try to “return to library” I get a big pop up error. Story of my life. haha

  2. I also can’t remember much about Anne of the Green Gables. Might reread it at some point. Enjoy it. Caught bread-handed sounds quite intriguing. At first reading the synopsis, I dismissed it thinking its a cue story about a baker/bakery until I got to the body count. Looking forward to your review of it. Happy reading.

  3. I forget how I heard Eoin was Owen, but I do know it’s the Gaelic spelling, not something his parents invented. I’ve read a lot of his books that I enjoyed but not that one yet. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.