Sleepy vs. Tired: An Endless Saga

 

Sleepy vs. Tired: An Endless Saga

I know back in December I’d be back around. And I totally haven’t. By the time the Friday rolls around, I am so done. By the time Friday rolls around, I am so done. All weekend I am a vegetable. I don’t want to do a damn thing.

I have been running ragged this whole school year, and I’m coming to the point where I have to make some difficult decisions about what I will and will not do next school year. I have been at school so late every night 99.95% of the year, all of the other adult things you have to do in life and keeping up your house has fallen by the wayside. I’ve taken care of a few tasks off of my “house list,” but I’m adding more tasks at a faster rate than I’m completing any. My kitchen table is overflowing with supplies and parts of projects I need to do.

At this point, I’m in a perpetual cycle of sleepy and tired. Or sleepy or tired. Or sleepy vs. tired. It’s all the same at this point in the saga that seems never-ending.

So what is the difference?

In the mornings, I don’t want to get out of bed. At all. I keep hitting that snooze until I am going to be late for work, which didn’t start until November, so that is one good thing to say about this year. But I am so exhausted in the mornings. I’m tired. Once I get in gear and I’m at work, I’m OK.

For about 2 hours. And then I get the droopy eyes and can barely keep them open. I just want to lay my head down. It’s the post-lunch nappy zone but at 9:45 in the morning! My whole morning is a slump and it sets the tone for the rest of the day.

This is how I felt before I got my CPAP. Like a zombie. And now I feel like this again. My sleep patterns can be whacky, but I’m sleeping thru the night more nights lately than I have most of the school year. This doesn’t add up for me.

Sleepy is one thing. We are all sleepy some mornings. But it’s like my sleepiness never goes away, and then at some point in the mid-morning it morphs into just tiredness. I think now I’m just perpetually tired. I definitely feel like these guys:

Do you have any tips or tricks that might help me out with the zombie life?

One thought on “Sleepy vs. Tired: An Endless Saga

  1. Honestly this sounds like there’s something wrong. I could have pretty much written this word for word twice in my life. Once when I had mono and at the end of last year when I had pneumonia. I’m not a super high energy person and I do tend to wear down easily but that comes in waves and can usually be helped by a couple of nights of going to bed early or taking a day for me tends to fix that. Have you been to the doctor? When I had mono I had no symptoms except extreme and constant fatigue. Also maybe green tea and lots of water? Sorry I have no advice but I hope you are able to figure something out so that you can feel better.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.