My Favorite…Book That Made Me Cry

My Favorite.. is a weekly meme hosted by Maureen’s Books. In this meme we share every week something we love with each other. Because let’s face it.. The world can be a dark place and it’s time to share something positive.


Book That Made Me Cry

I’m going to be honest: a lot of books make me cry. I cry at weddings. I cry at all kinds of things. But I think my favorite book that made me cry was Wild Bells to the Wild Sky. The back story is so heart-wrenching, with Lily and her younger sibling, along with her mother and the ship’s clerk.  Eventually, there is another sibling and then things change on the island. Lily and her siblings live on the island for years before being found. Then they lead an entirely different life. The hardships they endure is horrible, and the tale they tell is one of life and death if told to the wrong audience.

Lily Christian was just an enchantingly innocent child of paradise when she fell in love with the sun-bronzed captain who came to take her home to England. But shamed by the resplendent ladies of the court, she bitterly despaired of ever being loved in return.

As the years passed, and fortune’s cruelty forced her into a life of adventure, the girl once forgotten became a ravishing beauty who tormented Valentine Whitelaw’s heart. And as the royal treachery that had destroyed her family now threatened her, he became her champion. 

 

What is a favorite book that has made you cry? 

5 thoughts on “My Favorite…Book That Made Me Cry

  1. I haven’t heard about this book before, but it sounds nice. I’m also a very easy crier. Not when I’m at work, as a nurse that would make things difficult. But in my private life I can cry about books, movies, etc. Frustrating really!
    Thanks for sharing your favorite and signing up! 😉

  2. As I said in my post, I’m not much of a crier when it comes to books or movies. I will feel sad or upset, but the tears usually don’t fall.

  3. I am a big crier when it comes to books (movies and weddings too) as well. I get very involved with the books I read. 🙂 This one sounds like a good one! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

