Tuesday Teaser & Intro: Blue Like Elvis

first-chapter-first-paragraph

I am trying to catch up on my backlog of recent reads since I have been hiatus-ing. And it will let me catch up with my reading since I’m not reading as fast these days and it’s taking me longer to get through a book.

Synopsis ~ Blue Like Elvis

Do you remember where you were the day Elvis died?
I do. I know exactly where I was.
I was there.

In the spring of 1977, Shelby Colter moved back to Memphis, Tennessee hoping to make a fresh start after breaking off her engagement. Working as a patient representative hostess at Baptist Memorial Hospital–the world’s largest private hospital–she’s thrilled with her new job, assisting patients with their non-medical needs. She has to laugh at her colorful co-workers who constantly chat about Elvis-sightings. After all, Baptist Memorial was “Elvis’s hospital.”

Shelby hits the ground running, taking care of her patients, getting to know her new friends, and bumping into . . . Dr. Tucker Thompson? Who knew that annoying kid who used to hang out with her big brother was now a resident at Baptist Memorial Hospital? Little Chubby Tucker–a compassionate, handsome doctor?

As the summer rolls along, three people she loves face life-threatening situations, drawing Shelby back to her faith. And then one night, in a hospital prayer room, she pours out her heart to a most unexpected visitor . . .

Blue Like Elvis is loosely based on the author’s real-life experiences while working at Baptist Memorial Hospital in the summer of 1977. While most of the novel is fiction, the setting of Shelby’s adventures are based on the author’s memories of those days in Memphis leading up to that unforgettable day . . . the day Elvis died.

 

Prologue

August 16, 1977

Memphis, Tennessee

Ask anyone who was here that day and they’ll tell you. The air literally crackled with electricity. As if a nearby transformer had blown and all of us could feel the hairs lift off our arms, our necks. The Union Avenue lobby of the hospital quickly filled as employees rushed to see for themselves. Their questions hushed, but urgent.

Is is true? Please tell me it’s not true! 

Surely it’s just a rumor? 

Elvis Presley…our Elvis…dead?!

 


Teaser

My given name is Rayce Catherine Colter. Hence, the need for a nickname. I mean, we lived in the Deep South and my parents named me Rayce?  [Loc 281]

 

Oh great. I finally meet Elvis Presley – again – and I look like a train wreck.  [Loc 4263]

Would you keep reading? 

tuesdayTeaser Tuesday is hosted by The PurpleBooker. Post two sentences from somewhere in a book you’re reading. No spoilers, please! List the author and book title too. Link up HERE.

First Chapter/First Paragraph/Tuesday Intros is hosted by Bibliophile By The Sea. To participate, share the first paragraph (or a few) from a book you’re reading or thinking about reading soon. Link up HERE.

 

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Teaser & Intro: Blue Like Elvis

Leave a Reply

