Book Blogger Hop ~ 6.30.17

book-blogger-hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week poses a book-related question. The hop starts on Friday and ends on Thursday. The purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers.


Name a book that changed your life. (submitted by Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte)

 

I’ve talked about this book on my blog MANY times because it is so important to me. If you’ve been around Land of 1000 Wonders a while, you’ve probably read about my connection with this book.

That being said, I slightly feel like a broken record, but I will never stop talking about it. It wasn’t so much that the book changed my life, but the timing of when I read the book with a major life event that was so impactful for me.

I will also preface this by saying I have run across more people who trash this book or don’t want to even talk about it more than I have for any other book. This is a book I have always been very careful about pushing to others because of the topic.

I have been the unlucky one at a table full of master ELAR teachers who were hardcore hating on Alaska because of one scene in the book. Don’t we all do at least one thing we regret? Or one thing that we are proud of? One thing to help another person out? Should we knock the whole book because of one scene? If so, goodbye Beloved!

Synopsis

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave “the Great Perhaps” even more (Francois Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young. She is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. Then. . . .

After. Nothing is ever the same.

 

In the spring of 2011, I was required to read John Green’s Looking for Alaska for my adolescent literature course in order to get my teacher certification. It was a wonderful class with an excellent professor and the group of students in the course were fantastic. I loved every minute of that class. I am thankful for being exposed to so many different books I would not have picked up on my own and had the experience of reading and discussing.

About six months after I read this book for my class, my oldest male cousin committed suicide. He was the only son in his family, and the second grandchild. He had two very young sons of his own. This book is so personal for me for this reason. It’s so important to me. If you search “Looking for Alaska” in my search bar, you’re going to get probably close to 100 posts. I talked in-depth about the impact this book has had on me in a post about a new feature I started last year. This book never would have even been considered as a reading choice after Ricky’s death. I thank all my lucky stars that I was assigned to read this before.

In the days and weeks and months following the loss of my cousin, I scoured this book. I went back and furiously read sections trying to find answers, just as Pudge and the Colonel are trying to find answers.

Not only did I love the friendships in Looking for Alaska, I loved the fun they had. It very much reminded me of my cousin’s childhood. He would have fit right in with Pudge, Alaska, and the Colonel.

I’ve also talked about this book in these other posts:

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop ~ 6.30.17

Leave a Reply

