Book Blogger Hop #23

book-blogger-hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week poses a book-related question. The hop starts on Friday and ends on Thursday. The purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers.


Do your bookshelves have books ONLY or do you also have bookish items on the shelves? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver’s Reviews)

 

In the grand scheme of things, yes. But not really.  Because I had nowhere else to really put things, I placed an item I will not admit to anythinging on a stack of books two moves ago and now I’ve just left it there. (If you go back and look at oooooold bookcase photos, you’ll spot the tell-tale orange item that is a Texas only.)

When I pack up my books, it all goes in the box. I have a handful of stamps or little bookmarks or some such that I also keep in an oddly-left space on the top shelf. Otherwise, that’s it.

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop #23

  1. This is a really cool meme. I always like learning more about other book bloggers!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    • Welcome! This is only one of several memes I participate, and last year I created my own that I do.

      One thing I learned with experience is that choosing your theme for what you need is important. Some have different features with specifics like page links and your sidebar/footer. I went through several versions before I finally settled on this one. (And now I’m itching for a change.) Choose a font and colors that don’t kill people’s eyes. If it looks like a 13 year old’s Myspace page, I will never visit again. You want everything to be clean and easy to read.

      Setting a schedule is something that is debated, but I have to live by it. It can be as simple as “I’m going to post on Tuesdays and Thursdays” so your readers know when to come read your new content. Because I’ve built up to it over 4 years, I post *almost* every day (except Saturday). Participating in weekly memes is a good way to do that, and it also gives you content. A while back I decided to only post one book review a week so I could build up reviews (because I don’t read 15+ books a month). I cross-post reviews to Amazon and Goodreads and keep an archive on my blog.

      I post a monthly wrap up post that has several elements to it and link backs to some important (or low viewed) posts from the month. For me, this has usually been kind of a wash, but I like having those as a record for myself. Keeping track of your favorite or worse books for the month also is helpful for your end-of-year wrap up and favorite posts.

      The most important thing I learned was that you have to interact. In order to grow your readership, find a select number of blogs that really interest you and be a loyal visitor and commenter. Generally, bloggers return comments in kind, but some don’t. I’ve learned not to continue to waste my time on those blogs. Slowly branch out. Do what you can manage.

      If you have questions, you can find my email address on the ABOUT page. I’ll be happy to help. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

