Book Blogger Hop #21

book-blogger-hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week poses a book-related question. The hop starts on Friday and ends on Thursday. The purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers.


What do you do with books you no longer want? Do you donate them? Do you take them to a half-price bookstore? Does a friend or family member benefit? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver’s Reviews)

When I made the most recent move of my bookcase, I decided I needed to review some books just sitting around on my shelves. A few of them were mass paperback romances I purchased at WalMart that I never intended to re-read, and a book or two someone gave me when I first started blogging that weren’t my kind of reads, and a bunch of children’s books I was sent for review. Those kinds of things that I knew I could part with and not regret, so I did. I gave them to my mom. She gave the ones appropriate to her school’s library. The school is K-8 in a very rural area with approximately 120 students in good years. The rest she donated to our public library. I had wanted to do giveaways in little bundles of 2-3 similar books, but I just didn’t have the time, and I can’t even answer my own doctor’s calls during the daytime, let alone get to the post office. I also know of some bloggers who set up a post with a list and sale prices and they sell them through their blog.

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop #21

  1. Thank goodness for the ebooks! Now we can read those romances but not try to find room for them on our shelves. I now only buy heavy tomes – non-fiction, history or literary works that I know will take me some time to read.

  2. I always donate anything I know I wouldn’t read again. I have seen a few bloggers who do giveaways with these books, but I agree getting to the post office seems very challenging during the day.

  3. I usually donate books to my hometown library. If they are new books that I haven’t read or won’t read, then I do a giveaway on the blog or Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

