WWW Wednesdays (April 26th)

 img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading?

I didn’t post last week…because life. Seriously, there is not enough time in the day for these life-changing events I’m preparing for right now. And this week I’ve had an after school reading camp each day until 5:30. So glad tomorrow is the last day of it and I can get back to my reading.

I am still holding off on another audiobook for a bit. I will already have a backlog of 10-12 reviews to write. Eureka! But…Audiobook SYNC is right around the corner! 

29875862I have barely dived into my newest read, My One True Highlander. I am not going to finish the books I wanted to by the end of April, but I only have this book and one more left! 🙂  I think I am just about to shift gears into Ireland.

Rugged highlander Graeme has one thing on his mind—take a stand against the horrible Englishman Lattimer and he will be rewarded with enough money to be set for life. But when his reckless younger brothers take it one step too far and kidnaps a young woman on her way to see Lattimer, Graeme has to intervene. He cannot send the lady back without his kin getting in trouble. And when a damsel this beautiful is dropped into your lap, it’s hard to let her go…

Marjorie should be terrified she’s been captured by highland scoundrels, but it’s hard to live in terror when your captor is a devilishly handsome and sinfully tempting as Graeme is. She cannot stay by his side forever—no matter how her heart may pound at the thought—but Graeme seems to have other plans. This wicked highlander is out to seduce her and doesn’t plan to stop until she’s in his arms…forever…


 What did you just finish reading?

30199416

I picked up a little reading speed, and then I trailed off. [life] But I’m still moving forward with my NetGalley books. I decided to change the order just a bit because these covers matched a bit. I Dared the Duke was a somewhat light and airy read. The family background of the MC and her sibling, as well as a bad business choice by a con, have left them in somewhat dire straits. When a rumored threat surfaces around the ton as payback for a Duke’s young antics, he can no longer be derelict in his duties. He must protect his twin sisters at all costs as they make their debuts, and that requires hiring a chaperone. I loved the way the characters grew throughout the course of the book. The twins throw tantrums and literally fight over things like ribbons and such. And when they both set their eyes on the same man….Whew, I thought it was all over! But they surprised me so much.

I finished the last few chapters of The Bad Luck Bride Friday night. I LOVED this story. The MC, Claire, is the daughter of a duke and comes from an extremely wealthy lineage. Enough so to leave her with two properties of her own as well as funds for her entire life that she still wouldn’t be able to spend. She helps run her mother’s charity, which houses injured soldiers, their wives and children of deceased soldiers. They rehabilitate and help build skill sets to find housing and jobs. Isn’t that a wonderful endeavor? Claire maintains and grows her mother’s charity in her memory. She also struggles with her own fears from the childhood accident that took her parents. There is much residual trauma that she never dealt with. By the standards of the time, if anyone had seen her in public when she got in that way, they’d lock her up in Bedlam. And that’s how Alex finds her on the balcony at her engagement party following a missive from her fiance calling it off…and manipulates her into marrying him. You will need the tissues for this one!


What do you think you’ll read next?

I recently added two new NetGalley books to my list. When these are done I will continue working backwards through my backlog. Each book gets me closer to my goal!


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (April 26th)

  1. Looks like you’re in the mood for love!
    I’m reading Relentless by Nancy Alexander. Just finished reading Origin by J.A. Konrath. And will next be reading Witch Cake Murders by Zoe Arden.

Leave a Reply

