Book Blogger Hop #17

book-blogger-hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week poses a book-related question. The hop starts on Friday and ends on Thursday. The purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers.


Would you stop reading a book if an element of the plot strongly clashed with your personal beliefs, or would you continue reading until you finished finished the book? (submitted by Maria @ A Night’s Dream of Books)

If it was to the extent that it morally or ethically  clashed with my beliefs, I would discontinue reading the book. In fact, I have done so in the past and I even wrote all about it. In 2014 I read what I thought would be a helpful book, Who You Callin’ Silly? How a Silly Woman Becomes Virtuous. Essentially, if you’re not a virtuous woman, you’re silly. Whatever definition the author (also a pastor’s wife) considers silly.

Here is a paragraph I wrote to wrap up:

I was also quite annoyed with what I had read, but after thinking about what I’d read, I realized this book isn’t for me. I’m not a woman who needs this book – I’m already there. I know my self worth and don’t need validation. Ever get annoyed with someone trying to tell you how to do something, and you already know? After brooding on this a while, I realized that’s kind of where I was at with what I had read.

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop #17

  1. I’m not sure if I would stop reading a book or not. I think it would depend on the story, how the topic is handled, etc.

Leave a Reply

