Book Blogger Hop #10

book-blogger-hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week poses a book-related question. The hop starts on Friday and ends on Thursday. The purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers.


When you start reading a novel, do you prefer to be plunged right into the action, or do you prefer a slower, more descriptive introduction to the plot and characters? (submitted by Maria @ A Night’s Dream of Books)

Honestly, I like it both ways! Being plunged head-first keeps you young and alive, but a slow descriptive entrance lets you ponder and predict. Here’s the thing, though: it’s all about the writing. Some authors can’t do the slow intro – their writing just isn’t suited to it and it can feel forced and unnatural. Others aren’t great at hitting the intro running, and I am often left wondering if I overlooked something important.

I guess I can say I like the slow intro the best. When I started writing a novel (nearly 10 years ago now), I started it slow, descriptive, and with some background on characters.

8 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop #10

  1. For me it depends on the type of book – fast paced action thrillers need to plunge you in whereas slower paced books don’t necessarily need that shove. That’s interesting hearing from a writer’s perspective! It definitely gives you a little insight on what you prefer.

  2. I do enjoy both myself. It all depends on my mood. Sometimes I really want to get right into the plot and characters, while, at other times, I want to savor the music of language, the beautiful, flowing poetry of it. I also love all the metaphors and similes used by authors who write the longer, more descriptive introductions. But the briefer, more action-packed introductions are certainly exciting!

    Thanks for sharing! Have a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

  3. I am enjoying all the different thoughts on this question.

    I like to plunge in, but I am also thinking about the many folks who commented on the slow start. Making me think. THANKS.

    ENJOY your weekend.

    WELCOME to the Book Blogger Hop,

    Happy Hopping!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

Leave a Reply

