Sunday Post ~ The Birthday Week

0abf9b9e-b7ac-4d59-b451-7eb7c64ea1b9_zps47hi5hueThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Suday Post Meme.


I have been seriously stressing this week. I spent over 25 hours this week working on the yearbook, between what should have been my planning time with my partner and my own time at home. I planned to write two reviews a night to get the six done I needed to write this week, and I only got three and a half written. Now I have one more to add to my list.

I was so stressed last month that I didn’t get my cycle, and I was worried about that again. My boss has returned to work after weeks MIA, and I tried for three days to go talk to her. Third time’s the charm! I have a day this coming week dedicated to fully working on the yearbook to pore over the fine lines and tiny details. I’m terrified of finding mistakes post-submission. Last year it was a matter of “get it done in two months!” and this year I need to go over it with a fine-tooth comb.

Wednesday was my birthday, and the social butterfly of my team made a comment about it on Wednesday. I figured I didn’t have to say anything since she’d say it for me. Nope. I was a little disappointed, but I wore my french fry crown all day and the kids loved it.

16938851_1444950515524750_3767616472394180471_n
See my French Fry Crown?! This was my birthday last year. Really miss my partner, who did all this!

Friday for lunch my team decided to do an outdoor, belated lunch to celebrate my birthday. They brought their lawn chairs and we sat outside in the sun eating hot dogs and trying not to let our chips blow away (all of mine did).

Saturday night the man and I met my mom and brother for my birthday dinner. It was chilly, and it was one of my favorite places. We actually sat outside in the covered patio with the heaters. I filled up too much on their fabulous queso bean dip.

And I can’t wait to take pictures and share what the man got me for my birthday! I didn’t expect it at all, and I can’t wait for the three different pieces to arrive. 🙂

We are also making small plans to do this and that to prepare for his dad and stepmom coming down in March. I am excited to see his dad again, but a little nervous at the same time. We have some housekeeping to take care of before they arrive, and we are buying new bedroom furniture and playing musical bedrooms moving the current set into Baby’s room.

Cera has stopped pottying in Baby’s room!!  The man moved the fake grass to the living room where she kept going on the big bean bag (which we think is officially trashed now), and she is going on the fake grass! Her aim is a little off, but we’ll take it. We are so happy. Although, we see new blinds for the front window in our future. Progress!

1

Obsidian Sky | Autumn’s Dance | YA Lit Giveaway | The Piper’s Price

2

3

  • Monday
    • Cover Characteristics ~ Cookie Jar
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ TBD
    • Teaser Tuesday & Intro ~ King of the Friend Zone
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday
    • Famous Last Words #22
    • Blitz + Giveaway ~ The Piper’s Price
  •  Friday
    • Feature Follow Friday ~ TBD
    • Book Blogger Hop #10

4

I finished Chasing Fireflies on Sunday. It left something to be desired, to say the least. I just kept hoping there would be something spectacular and twisty that I would love. Regardless, this is my eighth book of the year and puts my Goodreads goal at 15% completed.

I started the next book in the Power of the Matchmaker series I have, King of the Friend Zone. My students and I will start chapter 13 of The Phantom Tollbooth. I’ve noticed now that we are at the last stretch of the book that the chapters are getting twice as long as they were. I’m still holding out that we will finish it before spring break in two weeks.

6

1b7fv8

I started this feature as part of my Sunday Posts in the fall. After being asked by a coworker – in all seriousness – if I had a life, I decided to join disc jockey Bobby Bones of Kase 101 in doing one human thing each week.

How does it work?

In order to not lose what little sanity I have left and in order to not become enslaved to the Texas Education Agency via my school district, I will…

  • leave school within an hour of dismissal once a week
  • go do one human thing with another human
  • talk about my human thing on the blog each week

I wasn’t that great at leaving work at a reasonable hour this week. I finally had to just walk out on Wednesday after my duty and do some self-care. I felt really down Thursday and I think I might have had a low-grade fever in retrospect. I waltzed out the door on Friday as soon as I got my things together.

No true human connections besides a short convo with Photographer Dad roommate.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sunday Post ~ The Birthday Week

Leave a Reply

