Book Blogger Hop #9

book-blogger-hop

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Each week poses a book-related question. The hop starts on Friday and ends on Thursday. The purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers.


How do you feel about books with multiple narrators? (submitted by Eli @ The Book Supplier)

I don’t particularly care for books with multiple POVs, and consequently, multiple narrators. I have seen some books that have four and five narrators, and that’s just too much. I like sticking with one narrator and one POV for the internal dialogue, the stream of consciousness from that individual as they interpret and work through events and emotions. When there is a switching of POVs and narrators, you don’t get that consistency with the narrator’s thoughts.

6 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop #9

  1. I actually enjoy a good multiple narrator book, especially when the characters have distinct perspective. I think some stories are better told from multiple perspectives than a single voice. But the same is true vice versa.

  2. For me, it depends. If it’s first person, I generally don’t like multiple point of view characters. If it’s third person, I don’t mind it (especially considering it’s very common in mystery/thriller books) as long as the author stays in one person’s head for entire scene. I don’t like headhopping. I also don’t like it when minor characters get to narrate. For example, I read a book recently that had scenes written from the point of view of the cook. Those scenes were boring and didn’t contribute much to the story.

Leave a Reply

