Tuesday Teaser & Intro: Chasing Fireflies

first-chapter-first-paragraph

Someone commented a few weeks ago that this cover looked interesting, so I decided for it to be my first pick in finishing up the Power of the Matchmaker series from last year.


30136490Synopsis ~ Chasing Fireflies by Taylor Dean

My sisters think I’m crazy.

But, I’ve never forgotten the mysterious woman from my childhood who told me Paul is the name of my one true love.
She told me to search far and wide for him.
I haven’t stopped looking ever since.

When I stumble across an article about a successful American entrepreneur named Paul who lives and works in China, I’m intrigued. When the opportunity to teach English in China presents itself on the same day, I know it’s not a coincidence.

It’s destiny.

My sisters say I’m chasing a dream.

Just like the fireflies we tried to catch on the warm summer evenings of our youth, the dream seems beyond my grasp. Will my quest for the elusive Paul always be just short of fulfillment?

My sisters tell me it’s a fool’s errand.

Until I remind them of the day we saw the Red Bird.
The memory silences them.
The Red Bird Incident remains inarguable—and proves my search for Paul is not a silly fantasy.

I will find Paul . . . I will.

 

Prologue

My three older sisters – Saige, Sadie, and Samantha – are all starting at me as if I just committed some type of cardinal sin or something.

Chapter 1

March, Five Months Earlier

“Please don’t leave me, Mom. Please.”


Teaser

 

Speak of the devil. Mr. Pow Pow saunters over to our table, looking like he belongs on a beach in California instead of a restaurant in China.

Would you keep reading? 

 

tuesdayTeaser Tuesday is hosted by The PurpleBooker. Post two sentences from somewhere in a book you’re reading. No spoilers, please! List the author and book title too. Link up HERE.

First Chapter/First Paragraph/Tuesday Intros is hosted by Bibliophile By The Sea. To participate, share the first paragraph (or a few) from a book you’re reading or thinking about reading soon. Link up HERE.

 

11 thoughts on “Tuesday Teaser & Intro: Chasing Fireflies

  1. Hmmm…searching for Paul. Sounds interesting and those sisters seem a little too ‘involved’ in her choices. That cover is different, but I’m not sure I like the way the top of her head is not visible. Enjoy!

  2. I like it all: the cover, the synopsis, the opening and the teaser. There’s something about that cover that really draws me — I don’t see it as her head chopped off but her hair is in her eyes and the mountains and clouds are in front, like a goal or what her mind is totally focused on. The synopsis sounds amazing. I wouldn’t read it based on the opening, I don’t think, but with everything taken into account — yes! absolutely! Here’s my link for today: http://wp.me/p4DMf0-1ti

Leave a Reply

