Sunday Post ~ Sleepless in Seattle

0abf9b9e-b7ac-4d59-b451-7eb7c64ea1b9_zps47hi5hueThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.


This week went by quickly. I had my follow-up appointment for my sleep study. Despite what my results showed, and despite the doctor signing for a recommendation of surgery (either for deviated septum or upper airways), in person she was denying I needed those services and that there was anything medical related to my poor sleep. She continued to make comments while reviewing my results with me that during certain periods it was not clear if I was actually asleep. That’s why I wanted a REAL sleep study done, which is what I questioned in November and I restated as my concern to her. She kept trying to recommend I get one done at the same time lamenting the costs I would incur. No shit, Sherlock. But you know, this is *after* I asked for one and was told no, I didn’t have a big insurance company and already am on the hook a grand for this rinky dink one that didn’t reveal anything.

The result? I will not be getting a CPAP. Instead, I must have an diagnosed mood disorder and she ordered psychiatry services. I walked out without scheduling any follow ups.

All this, after telling me I needed to “read something boring before bed, like The Bible.”  I will wait until I get new insurance in the fall and start the process over – this time with my man in attendance to cut the crap.

Other than that, it was a mild week. I have one class that is starting to act up habitually. They are good kids, but the makeup of them is just such that they feed off of one another. I had a training afternoon on Wednesday and it was actually a little productive. My yearbook kids and I are working on portraits until we get sick of looking at people and their names. Heaven forbid these 11, 12, and 13 year olds make an unforgivable error! 🙂

1

 A Venture of the Heart

2

3

  • Monday
  • Review + Giveaway ~ Staying for Good
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ Graphic Novels
    • Teaser Tuesday & Intro ~ Chasing Fireflies
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday
    • Famous Last Words #21
  •  Friday
    • Feature Follow Friday ~ Groundhog Day
    • Book Blogger Hop #6

4

I finished my audiobook, X. I was surprised when someone sent out a newsletter at work recommending X for students as a diverse read. While it is about Malcolm X in his young life up until his arrest at age 20, it contains content about hustling people, gambling and loan sharking, dealing and doing pot and cocaine. Whoever just saw “Malcolm X” and said “Yep, that’s diverse!” without looking at the content.

I started listening to a new audiobook, Crows & Cards. So far it’s just “eh” and. Not much that is particularly phenomenal about it yet. I’m hoping the plot picks up soon. I’m finishing up Staying for Good for my review on Monday. My students and I read chapter 7 of The Phantom Tollbooth on Friday.

6

1b7fv8

I started this feature as part of my Sunday Posts in the fall. After being asked by a coworker – in all seriousness – if I had a life, I decided to join disc jockey Bobby Bones of Kase 101 in doing one human thing each week.

How does it work?

In order to not lose what little sanity I have left and in order to not become enslaved to the Texas Education Agency via my school district, I will…

  • leave school within an hour of dismissal once a week
  • go do one human thing with another human
  • talk about my human thing on the blog each week

I didn’t have any particular human connections this week, either. I did leave work around 5pm two days this week, and left right after school on Friday. I was out twice this week, which always makes things hectic. The relief of UIL being off my plate is nice.

Cera, the new pup, is still pooping all around the house in Baby’s favorite places. Given the vast amount of time she’s allowed outside and a short window of time in which she goes in the house, we’re starting to think it isn’t a potty training matter but a territorial matter. It’s going to get old very soon. Anyone have any helpful ideas?

12 thoughts on “Sunday Post ~ Sleepless in Seattle

  1. Are you fucking kidding me, Charlie? A doctor told you to ‘read something – like the bible’ before going to sleep? Where did she go to medical school? It sucks that she didn’t let you have the full sleep study, and that she says one thing in person while writing something different in her report. *shakes head*
    Sorry about the inside pooping. It does sound territorial, but I have no idea what you can do about it… It would get old real quick, now, wouldn’t it?
    I hope you’ll have a wonderful week ahead, with lots of good books.

    • Yep, she said in establishing my bedtime routine, from 9 until 10 pm I should sit in a chair and “read something boring, like The Bible or a magazine.” I don’t know how I didn’t visibly react to that, but in my head I was just thinking, “Woooooow.” I don’t trust her medical opinion any longer, and I won’t be going back to see her or go to the psychiatrist. I’ve asked my mother, childhood friends, and friends who’ve only known me in adulthood, and none of them expressed concern about my mental health.

      The pooping is getting old. We hate to close off Baby’s room, but I think we’re going to have to start doing that when we go anywhere so that Cera is relegated to only the kitchen, living room, and dining room. Baby still has her bean bag to go get on, but she loves that bed.

  2. Ouch. Yeah, not liking the sound of this doctor. First off, even suggesting reading the Bible before bed is just wrong on sooo many levels. She’s foisting off, likely her, religion on you when you may not even share those beliefs. What the heck is up with that? And I can’t understand why a full sleep study wasn’t done if you’re having issues. That really bits. I hope when your new insurance kicks in you get a better second opinion.

    But at least you got some nice new reads this week! Totally new to me ones, so I hope you will enjoy them all!

    Here’s my STS

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    • I get needing a bedtime routine and doing something non-stimulating before bed, but I didn’t think that was appropriate. While I am not an overly religious person, and I try to not promote today’s culture of everyone having reasons to be offended, I thought it unprofessional and unnecessary. I don’t understand why a full sleep study was not done first either. What I see is someone who didn’t do her job right the first time despite my questions, and I had to shell out money for, and now she wants to do what should have been done in the first time, and I’ll have to shell out even more money. Just shady to me, and I don’t like shady.

    • I don’t know what she is trying to recommend either. She’s disagreeing with what she recommended in my results, now implying I should have gotten an in-lab study done (which is what I expected and voiced concern over in Nov.). Mentioned I’d have to go back to the ENT and get his opinion regarding the surgeries she recommended. I was very frustrated, and while I wasn’t rude, I kept redirecting the conversation to my results and what she had recommended and signed and she was getting defensive about it and trying to deflect. She kept getting closer to me and raising her voice when she would first respond. When I walked out, there was a nurse and a woman working the desk. They both stopped me to ask if I needed to schedule a follow up. I just laughed, said no, and kept walking.

  3. OMG your doctor just gave me a mood disorder as I am angry she would say anything like that. It would be in your best interest to find a new one. Could you maybe find a free clinical sleep study? Sometimes places or hospitals do them, like those product testing places. I have seen them around here not sure if you have them around you.

    Do you cage her? I hate caging dogs but when they show signs of territory sometimes you need to set rules and eventually they will follow. Sorry the new pup is causing issues.

    Have a great week, Charlie! Happy Reading!

  4. I had a friend who had an issue her doctor couldn’t diagnose, so the doctor just suggested she see a psychiatrist. Insulting. I’m sure there are instances where counseling could help certain ailments, but they need to exhaust every possible test to ensure there’s nothing physical going on. We often know when something isn’t right with our bodies.

    • That is so right, Stephanie. I have nobody in my life expressing concerns about my mental health, and I can look up stress relief strategies on my own. After a $600+ bill just for my initial sleep study consultation, I’m done with this doctor!

Leave a Reply

