WWW Wednesdays (January 25th)

 img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

29917857I didn’t get a good start on my reading of this last week. Getting permission slips for about 15 kids still missing them for Saturday consumed my energy all last week.

378Since I’m reading it at school with my “homeroom” class, I have forgotten all about reading another book. I didn’t even mark it on my Goodreads until Sunday. We started reading The Phantom Tollbooth in December. So far we’re only at chapter 7. They have two novel unit packets that we work with chapter-by-chapter to improve the skills they are weak in. They thought I had read this book before, but I never have. Most of my students last year read it when they were in fifth grade, but the ones I have this year didn’t.

For Milo, everything’s a bore. When a tollbooth mysteriously appears in his room, he drives through only because he’s got nothing better to do. But on the other side, things seem different. Milo visits the Island of Conclusions (you get there by jumping), learns about time from a ticking watchdog named Tock, and even embarks on a quest to rescue Rhyme and Reason! Somewhere along the way, Milo realizes something astonishing. Life is far from dull. In fact, it’s exciting beyond his wildest dreams. . . .

22292486I also started a new audiobook! And I’m almost done with it! If I listen tonight, I will have it finished.

Cowritten by Malcolm X’s daughter, this riveting and revealing novel follows the formative years of the man whose words and actions shook the world.

Malcolm Little’s parents have always told him that he can achieve anything, but from what he can tell, that’s a pack of lies—after all, his father’s been murdered, his mother’s been taken away, and his dreams of becoming a lawyer have gotten him laughed out of school. There’s no point in trying, he figures, and lured by the nightlife of Boston and New York, he escapes into a world of fancy suits, jazz, girls, and reefer. But Malcolm’s efforts to leave the past behind lead him into increasingly dangerous territory. Deep down, he knows that the freedom he’s found is only an illusion—and that he can’t run forever.

X follows Malcolm from his childhood to his imprisonment for theft at age twenty, when he found the faith that would lead him to forge a new path and command a voice that still resonates today.


 What did you just finish reading?

Nada…yet. I’m hoping to finish soon!


What do you think you’ll read next?

I am going to start with Chasing Fireflies next.


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (January 25th)

Leave a Reply

