Sunday Post ~ Winter Break Up

0abf9b9e-b7ac-4d59-b451-7eb7c64ea1b9_zps47hi5hueThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.


The weather here in Central Texas has been off. It was blazing during Christmas. The past few days have been freezing cold, like Winter actually got the memo to do it’s job. And I hear tomorrow is going to be Tshirt and shorts weather. I have decided Winter is either the most bipolar of the seasons, or it is that super lazy coworker who only puts in any effort when the boss is around.

Life is stressful right now. My ELA students are in the midst of this PBL project that has been pushed back for reasons out of my control, and it just needs to be over so we can move on. My Yearbook kids are freaking the fuck out, reality setting in that the first half of the book is due this coming Friday. I have been telling them this since August 22. At this point, some of the more creative (and time-consuming) ideas we had have to go out the window. Honestly? I don’t think they’ll meet deadline. Most pages are at the 40% completion mark. We are still having to work without any computers to get our work done.

Things at work that keep happening just make it crystal clear it is no longer where I belong. Perhaps because now there is the man and we have made our plans to make the big move that I’m seeing all the faults that I just put up with before or I never realized were happening. I’m tired of being taken advantage of. I’m tired of being told I’m not good enough, what I’m doing is not good enough. I’m tired of being brushed off when I have something to meaningfully contribute. I’m just done being wanted for what I can do for someone else to make them look good and otherwise shit on. Done with that mess.

Baby is getting along well with Photographer Dad’s kiddos. She thinks they are her little charges. I think I pissed the third roommate off. I am currently watching Nashville on Hulu. It’s the first show I’m watching since going back to Hulu. I have my air purifier and tower fan going in my room at night because there is no air/heat from the HVAC and the fan does not work. The two are loud. I had my TV volume set at 9. In the old house, I typically had it set in the 30s. It goes up to 75. I had the volume set on 9 and he started banging on the wall between our rooms. This might become a problem. A possible solution is to rearrange my room (which will require help) so that the TV is on the other side of the room, even though I like how it is set up now. Anybody have any other suggestions?

1

 Still none.

2

 

3

  • Monday
    • Review ~ DNF: Parallel Roads
    • The Book Blogger Test
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ 
    • Teaser Tuesday & Intro ~ TBD
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday
    • Famous Last Words #21
  •  Friday
    • Review ~ Faith in Every Footstep
    • Feature Follow Friday ~ Favorite Humorous Books
    • Book Blogger Hop #3

4

15839984

29875915I started listening to Cruel Beauty on audio in October. I’ve slowly whittled away at chapters. I need to get back to it and finish it so I can move on to a new audio. This will be my first audiobook of the year.

I’ve also been reading Somebody Like You for an upcoming tour. I haven’t had as much reading time as I had hoped, so in order to get it together I might not be as active for the next couple weeks while I get our yearbook sent off and catch up in reading.

6

1b7fv8

This is a feature I am adding to my Sunday Posts. After being asked by a coworker – in all seriousness – if I had a life, I decided to join disc jockey Bobby Bones of Kase 101 in doing one human thing each week.

How does it work?

In order to not lose what little sanity I have left and in order to not become enslaved to the Texas Education Agency via my school district, I will…

  • leave school within an hour of dismissal once a week
  • go do one human thing with another human
  • talk about my human thing on the blog each week

I finally decided to give in and work on a project (that I won’t tell you about until I’ve got some photos to show!) this year. I didn’t know what materials I would need, so I asked the most artsy friend I know to help me pick out materials. Turns out, he’s doing the same project, too! So we can see each other’s work and help each other out. We met Wednesday at an art store and he helped me pick out the rest of what I hadn’t ordered, and then we went to a very hip and popular pizza joint and just caught up. In all, it was a three hour outing that I enjoyed thoroughly. Sadly, we didn’t think to take any pictures! I am excited to share my project and his too with you guys!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Post ~ Winter Break Up

  1. It’s a new year and hopefully you will get things sorted out and be happy with your choices. I’m planning new things to make my life happier and easier. Life is too short to tolerate crap. LOL Be happy!

    My Sunday Post

  2. Oh, I’m intrigued by your secret project…. can’t wait to hear more and I hope you’re able to make some work changes so you’re happier. Life’s short so I don’t think we should stay in places that don’t make us happy. Mind you, we’re not always in a position to make the changes we need to, but sometimes even having a plan is good.

  3. I, too, have found that when I know I’m leaving a situation soon, the faults in that situation become 100% clear. I think when we know we can’t leave, we just accept everything and try to shut the bad out. We have to do so to survive.

Leave a Reply

