Merry Mondays #3

merry-mondays-blogmeme-christmas-bookblogger

Merry Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Lillian @ Mom With a Reading Problem during the month of December to celebrate Christmas and the holiday season. Each week a different topic centered around the holidays will be discussed. This is my first year participating, and I’m trying to catch up on my missed Mondays.


Monday, December 12

Today’s Topic: White Christmas or Beach Christmas

Which is your preferred way to spend the holiday season? How do you spend your Christmas and what is your dream holiday?

 

I’ve lived in my area for my entire life, and I don’t ever recall having a white Christmas. We rarely get snow, and when we do it is barely an inch, so it basically doesn’t count. I can count on one hand the number of times I recall us having snow. Though, when my grandmother was still alive, we always had Christmas at her house, and out of that grew a family tradition on Thanksgiving. When I was somewhere between four and seven, I do remember having a white Thanksgiving. It was family tradition that we all – aunts, uncles, cousins – marched single file following my mom’s oldest brother through the pasture to pick out a Christmas tree. We would cut it down and bring it back, and I do vividly remember marching along in that line one Thanksgiving, bundled all up looking like the Michelin man, and if I happened to topple over I would have been rolling around like a rolly polly and unable to get back up.

Since I’ve never had a white Christmas – a real one – I would like to experience one at home and one traveling. After seeing so many friends visiting New York this year and all of the entertainment and activities, particularly around Christmas, I’d like to experience my “away” white Christmas in New York.

After that I think I’ll be good to have beach Christmases – Hawaii, Jamaica. In fact, one of my students is going to Jamaica tomorrow!

One thought on “Merry Mondays #3

Leave a Reply

