Top Ten Tuesday: Thankful

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme feature created at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists. For the list of past topics and future schedule, click here.


Thankful

I am thankful for a lot of things. The typical: I have a job and a car, I have medical benefits, I have a home, and I can eat. Except for my weight, I am in general good health.

There are more things to be thankful for in life. True, these are the most necessary, but there are so many more.

First, I am thankful for my mother. Always. There was a 12 year period where I was so angry with my mother that I couldn’t see anything else but that. We finally worked out our issues and she is my closest friend today. I never want to live a day without her because even at our worst, I know that she still loved me as terrible as I was and as bad as we were for one another. She didn’t let that stop her from loving me and trying to teach me to be a good person, a strong and independent person.

I am thankful for the strong bond I experienced growing up in a large family. While my brothers and I grew up in poverty, we never knew it. Everyone else in our family made sure we never saw that. The sentiment of a village rings very true for how I grew up. Everyone pitched in to help.

I am thankful I was an eavesdropper. I would sit around at family gatherings and listen to the old folks’ stories. I learned so many things about my relatives and got to relive those moments. I don’t think I will ever be as good a storyteller as they were. This also helped me appreciate people – something I don’t see in the students I teach.

I am thankful for being the oldest. I had to learn how to be independent and successful. For all intents and purposes, I raised my three younger brothers while being an excelling, A-honor roll student. It made me be responsible and accountable. It made me grow up well beyond my years and took away some of my childhood, it made be a better person. I am still more mature than people my age.

I am thankful for the incredible people I met at university. I worked in a handful of university offices, and I was blessed to have the wisdom of several strong and caring women handed down to me. I don’t think I would have survived the ups and downs of friendships, relationships, workships, and all the rest that goes along with being a young person out in the world without them.

I am thankful for my failed engagement. It taught me just how strong I was and it taught me how to be by myself. I found out how to be happy with myself.

I am thankful for Baby. She is the light of my life and I am forever thankful that I made D go back and look at her at the shelter. Because of the way things ended, she came with me and I will never regret that for a minute. She has made me immensely happy and she loves unconditionally. She’s the best dog.

I am thankful for the amazing friends I have. While I have one that lives just down the street, and others that live too far away, I love them all and they never cease to surprise me.

I am thankful for the man. He has shown me the kind of partner I want, that I have been looking for. He treats me with respect, he lets me make decisions, he values my input, he thinks of me, he adores Baby. This is something I have never fully had in my relationships before, it is something I was looking for, and I found it. I appreciate him for all of the things he is and all that he does for me.

 

What are you thankful for?  

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Thankful

  1. I love hearing that although someone grew up in poverty they never knew. I can relate to that as far as being raised so closely to my grandparents who were so full of life and love. Looking back, I see how broke they were.
    It is wonderful to hear too, that you have healed your relationship with your mother. So many people never do. It is a beautiful thing.

  2. This is such a beautiful post. It made me teary. I feel the same way about my mum and I truly thank God for her everyday. I am sorry about your engagement but I am glad that it led you on a path of self-discovery and it seems like things worked out in the end.

Leave a Reply

