Where In The World? … A Hiatus

pocket-watch-1637396_1920

Where in the world have I been? 

What’s going on? 

Some of you may have noticed I have not truly been around in the past month. I’ve had content go up, and as the weeks wore on it became a little less and fewer posts than the week before.

I apologize for not getting around to see you all in October. Life is just too much right now with all of this mess with the house, my evaluation at work, and running the yearbook and UIL programs for my campus.

Honestly, November is not going to be better. In fact, it’s going to be worse. I have run out of scheduled posts and reviews and I am not going to force myself to write them in the hours on the weekend before the man wakes up. I am exhausted and a little down-trodden right now and I don’t want to keep pretending at this and being miserable because I’m failing at it.


When school started the man and I had a serious conversation about the end of this school year. He asked again and again about making the move to him real at the end of this year, not just saying it was going to happen and not planning and preparing for it. We agreed that at the end of the big move to him, and he has been making some preparations for that at his home. It will be happening, and with all the nonsense with the house and my landlord, I have made some decisions.

The good news is I am moving. Now. I found a nice residence in my dad’s hometown, next to my hometown. I will be close to my family and on a one-stop route from the man’s to my work without having to go 30 minutes out of my way. The homeowner is a single dad who is nice and considerate and easy-going, and he is also a photographer, so I can lean on him for some tips with my yearbook kids. It is in a great neighborhood and a quiet street and is just what I need right now.

hand-truck-564242_1920I am in the process of moving. Sunday we will pack up the big furniture and move it to my parents’ storage unit and I will take the items that will end up at the man’s to his house to his house (like my bookcase) and the first round of things to Photographer Dad’s. That will get most of the living room taken care of. I almost have the bathroom entirely packed up. Then it is a matter of the kitchen and my bedroom.

My job for the rest of the week is to start weeding through clothes to get rid of and separating things that I need to donate, trash, take to the man’s, or take with me for the short-term stay at Photographer Dad’s.

Then there is the issue of my dad getting everything from my late grandfather’s house out of my garage and somewhere. He is griping and moaning and complaining about doing it and keeps giving me excuses about not having time. He doesn’t even know what he’s talking about. I don’t have time! My grandfather died the week before school started last year. His funeral was the second day of school. I know it is hard on him to have to go through his father’s things and I know he carries a lot of regret for never taking the imitative to go see his parents and take us kids on his own. If my mother couldn’t go because of work, it didn’t happen. I know it’s hard for him and I don’t want to put him through that pain before he is ready to deal with it, but we are out of time.

With all of this being said, I am taking a hiatus for November. My goal is that I am completely moved out of The Bungalow the weekend before Thanksgiving. I don’t want to have to deal with any of this during that week. I want it done and over. When everything is right again, I will return. I have missed keeping up with you all and running my blog right.

5 thoughts on “Where In The World? … A Hiatus

  1. Lovely to hear from you and great news I guess. The stuff with your house sounded so frustrating and this seems like it’s killing several birds with one stone. Perhaps it’s fate.

    I’ve just made sure I’m following you on social media to keep up with your news!

  2. Sorry you have so much going on, Charlie! Not all of it is bad, though, and I’m happy for you that you’ve made the decision to move in with the man! I guess making a move now – to an inbetween place until summer – wasn’t exactly the plan, but it will definitely make your final move easier.
    Don’t worry about the blog! We won’t forget about you – and you do need to take care of yourself and make sure you get the rest you need.
    Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading xoxo

    • No, not all of it is bad. Just too much at the same time. Divvying up stuff to take to the man’s and to the new house has definitely helped make the big move at the end of the year a lot easier. I don’t think I will be as stressed.

Leave a Reply

