WWW Wednesdays (November 2)

 img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

441267916713My students are right in the middle of their novel units. My Pre-AP students are reading Where the Red Fern Grows and my on-level students are reading Trouble River. Last year the kids voiced a strong dislike for Trouble River, and this year the kids love it and groan when I tell them to close their books at the end of class. Ironically, the boys in both these books are eerily alike despite the different time periods.

As for what I am reading on my own, I haven’t yet picked a new book. I have plenty I am looking at that I want to read, but with this sudden move and wanting to be moved before Thanksgiving week, I am not going to be having a lot of time to read this month.


 What did you just finish reading?

26241885I finished up reading O’er the River Liffey (Power of the Matchmaker#6). I was surprised at the setting and time period as most of the series so far has been contemporary, but I enjoyed the book. Both the central characters pointed out how quickly they had fallen for each other and that it was extremely unordinary, and I kind of agreed. While that bothered me and made me think of instalove, I did like the sentiment and the respect with which the male character had for Caroline and her reputation.

I also started in on the next book that I have in the Power of the Matchmaker series, Between Heaven and Earth. I have enjoyed this book thoroughly. The internal conflict of the MC was a hard thing to handle and really pulled at the heart. It didn’t seem to matter how much the Matchmaker or others tried to encourage her, she held steadfast in the other direction to the degree that she wasn’t a good wife. That was far from the truth, and it was irritating to see

26301710

Cassandra Webb’s every waking minute is devoted to being a great mother and wife. She takes five-year-old Noah to the library each week, volunteers in his kindergarten class, and even coaches his soccer team. She makes sure her husband’s uniforms are always laundered—even though he hasn’t worn them the last six years—always has his game day snacks on hand, and meets him for date night every Friday—which consists of one sided conversations at his bedside and watching his favorite take out remain untouched.

Pearl, a mysterious visitor at the care center, suggests that it is only Cassie’s love still tying Devon to Earth when he has been ready to move onto Heaven for quite some time. If Cassie will but open her eyes and heart, she will discover the path she should travel, one that will bring relief to Devon and much joy to her own life. But Cassie vowed never to give up on him. She never has and she can’t now, even after meeting hapless, single soccer-dad Matt.


What do you think you’ll read next?

TBD. Life and all that.


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (November 2)

  1. You have me curious about the Power of the Matchmaker series, especially since the first few books were contemporary and this historical. I am off to discover more! And of course, this is the 6th book! My poor TBR pile!

Leave a Reply

