First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros: O’er The River Liffey

First Chapter First Paragraph

Today I’m participating in First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros, hosted by Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea, in which bloggers share a bit about a book they’re reading or planning to read soon.


I received a long-awaited copy of the next installment in the Power of the Matchmaker series, a 12-book series with each installment written by a new author and one running character throughout. The last in the series I read was Four Chambers, and I’m looking forward to O’er the River Liffey. I love the diversity of each new installment – you never know what you’re going to get!



26241885Prologue

Ireland, July 1815

“Tell us a story, Niall,” Pierre asked, his empty tankard dangling from his fingers.

Oui, donnez-nous!” agreed Etienne.

Niall considered; which story should serve to keep the nightmares at bay tonight? “Have I told you about the children of Lir?”

 

Chapter 1

Caroline Fulton of The Hollows in Mullagh, County Cavan was on her way. She looked through the window glass and watched the scenery bounce along beside her. The travelling coach certainly afforded a smoother journey than did her jaunting car. Feeling a nudge in her side, she turned to look into the face of her dearest friend, Fiona O’Sullivan.

“Caro,” she said, “I have been speaking to you this quarter hour and I am persuaded you have heard not a word.” The red-haired beauty made a splendid moue, one that induced Caroline to fear her friend would be wed and carried off to parts unknown before the house party to which they journeyed was at an end.


Synopsis

Irish heiress Caroline Fulton knows this house party, ostensibly celebrating the victory of Waterloo, is really an audition: will she make a suitable wife? Her host, an English lord, has already won over her father, who’s determined to buy a title with Caroline’s dowry. She is far from taken with the baron, however, especially once she meets Niall Doherty, the impoverished, perceptive tutor to her host’s younger brothers. He shares her love of Irish fairy tales and seems to guard a troubled past…but neither quality will earn Caroline’s father’s approval.

 

Would you keep reading?  

2 thoughts on “First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros: O’er The River Liffey

  1. Lovely cover! I think I would keep reading. I like the writing and this one sounds very interesting.

    My mind has been known to wonder too and I don’t realize someone is talking to me. I think it happens more the other way around though when it comes to my daughter–she’s distracted and I’m trying to talk to her. Haha

Leave a Reply

