Feature Follow Friday ~ July 29, 2016

feature-and-follow
Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The goal of Feature & Follow is to meet new bloggers, make friends, and gain readers.

My Stance on DNF

What is your take on DNF books? Do you review them? Choose not to review them?

*UPDATE* 

I never stop before the 40% mark with a book. I am still a perfectionist with a Type A personality, so I try my best to finish reading books. After looking back at my data, I’ve DNFed 4 books since I started blogging (although I haven’t updated my DNF shelf on Goodreads). I also have one I have set aside and have in my Carousel waiting to be read. At the time, my life was too chaotic to dedicate to that book.

I feel there is a perception about DNF reviews. Those slimy 1 star reviews that focus on every single minute negative of the book. Where did this even come from? My reviews, whether DNF or a 5 star, are honest, fair and include elements I liked and those I didn’t. If it is a DNF review, I feel as a reviewer it is my duty to share why I couldn’t continue reading. This is helpful to readers like me, potential customers, and also the author.


I don’t think I ever DNFed a book before I became a book blogger. I see so many of my students quit on books because they just don’t want to read, period. Very few actually don’t like the book or think it’s for them. I can’t ever remember either of those two scenarios growing up. If I checked it out, I read it.

So when I started blogging, I thought it was sacrilegious to DNF a book. So I didn’t…no matter how much I disliked the book.

About a year into this journey, the conversation about DNFing kept springing up around the blogosphere. I wasn’t an active participant, but I took note: a lot of bloggers were coming around to or okay with DNFing.

After stumbling across a few books that looked so promising and turned out to be such duds, I firmly believe in DNFing. I don’t do it very often, probably less than five times since I’ve been blogging, but why should we punish ourselves to finish a book that we do not enjoy? That will skew our reviews.

DNFing a book and reviewing a DNF are two different topics. Some are on board with DNFing, but would never write a review for that book.

I do. The longer I’ve been at this, and the more I say I’m not accepting review requests, the more that come in. It’s like our world no longer understands the meaning of the word “no.” It means yes, people think. And since so many bloggers clearly identify their review policies, I find more and more authors fudge their book description when pushing it to reviewers to cater to those individuals’ tastes.

I review my DNF books so that other readers who have the same reading interests as I or who had the same expectations as I know that the book might not be for them so they don’t waste their time. Although in the past year I have become quite lazy and have several books and audiobooks I haven’t written a review for…I haven’t DNFed a book in a long time, so I might just skip writing the review because I have better ways to spend my time. You know, reviewing other books. 🙂

There are just too many books out there to force myself to read things I am not enjoying.

 

How do you feel about DNF?

21 thoughts on “Feature Follow Friday ~ July 29, 2016

  1. I rarely DNF books, if I really hate what I’m reading and the book is a fairly short one, I’ll probably skim through the rest of the book to see how the story ends. But if the book I hate at the start of the read is a really long one, I wouldn’t be bother even with skimming it to the end.

  2. It’s a sensitive issue when it comes to reviewing DNFed books. I think that it depends at what point in the book you DNF. It it’s only a few chapters, I think it is not fair to review a book without really giving it a chance. But if you tried and tried and tried and it is impossible to get into the book, reviewing it seems like a good thing to do. A review is expressing your opinion, and you should always share it about bad books as well. I personally sometimes suffer till I am finished with the book that I could actually form argumentative review on why the book is bad, but I find myself only skim reading it. Lately I have been trying to actually start DNFing since wasting time on the books I do not enjoy at all doesn’t seem wise.

  3. I’m a supporter of both DNFing books and writing reviews for them. I can’t say I ever DNFed a book before starting my book blog but it eventually came up with a few books received for request and I had to make a decision about my policy concerning DNFs. As a reader, my decision to read a book or not can hinge on those low rated/DNF reviews in the case that I share similar tastes with the reviewer (like you mentioned). It’s definitely a somewhat hot topic as everyone has a slightly different policy about them but I am glad that others review DNFs too.

    Have a good weekend and happy reading!

    • I was trying to think back, especially to when I was in school, and I don’t think I ever DNFed a book either. If I checked it out, I read it. It’s hard to keep an open mind and stick to what you know with review requests. I finally closed mine entirely.

  4. DNF books are rare for me as well, but they happen. And when they do, I am 50/50 on writing a review. If I read a significant amount I will write a review or if there are review obligations of course. Since I am a reader who looks for all reviews when I am hesitant on a book, I feel the need to write a DNF one to help other readers if they are the same!

    Here’s my Follow Friday

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

  5. I DNF books very rarely. I don’t find the need to, I have gotten really good at picking books that work. On the rare occasion that I do DNF a book I let the person know in private, though after reading everyones thoughts on it I am thinking of changing my mind. Following on Pinterest and others you requested.

  6. I try to avoid DNFing books unless I am really, utterly bored or the book insults me. Time is precious so I won’t give hours on a book that just doesn’t work for me. I don’t write reviews per say, but I try to publish a post stating the reasons I chose to DNF and give the arguments to bolster my decision.

  7. When I DNF a book it’s usually not on purpose. Like I’ll just be getting bored with it and start reading something else thinking that I’ll DEFINITELY come back to it and see if it picks up… but then I don’t come back. And I do review them in a round-up of DNFs that I do a few times a year. I just feel that I should be able to tell other readers what the book is like in the beginning so that they can make a decision on reading it.

    • I think that’s a really good idea! I have a few books floating around that I haven’t ever written a review for, and I don’t think I could write a full review after all this time. A round-up would work well for that, just as you use them for DNFs. Thanks for sharing your method, Michelle!

  8. I try to finish all of the books I get for review as well, because it pains me to not finish something. I think my biggest problem is I say “yes” to almost everything, even if I’m not really excited about reading it. I have decided, after reading everyone’s posts, that I am going to post at least a short review on Goodreads for the books I DNF. I think I owe it to potential readers to give them a heads up on at least one forum. And I’m going to be way more picky from now on regarding which books I accept for review. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • Jamie, you must be twin me somewhere else. I was terrible at saying “no” to anyone or any book. I’ve gotten better, but there are still so many books I *do* want to read and it’s still hard to say “no.”

  9. I agree! The reason why I became a blogger is to share why I liked or disliked a book. I care about literature and I want to be able to help authors in creating the best writing they can, even if I didn’t DNF the book. If I do give a bad rating to a book I want to try to help them by giving them a helpful critique. Thanks for commenting on my blog! Old follower.

  10. I write about my DNF books. I keep waiting for someone to ask me to try the book again, but all I get back are nods of agreement (except nevernight, people are still loving it). I think like you do that life is too short for bad books. If you were a publisher you would only read about 10 pages before deciding, and that is on someone’s career. Don’t feel bad about it.

Leave a Reply

