Sunday Post ~ Release the Kraken

0abf9b9e-b7ac-4d59-b451-7eb7c64ea1b9_zps47hi5hueThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.


Remember, there are free audiobooks all summer long! Sign up for the text alerts to remember to grab them each week! All you need is an Overdrive account.

I spent last weekend catching up on reviews. I estimated I had about a dozen to write, and I was close. I had ten that I churned out after putting them off all summer. I now have built up a few scheduled posts. I’m not back to where I used to be, but I’m working on it.

I’m a little peeved that next week we are required to attend various trainings outside of our contract that we will not be paid for, whether in our actual paychecks or in additional days. This is what in-service is for, which keeps getting longer and longer each year. I have to go to trainings Monday-Thursday next week, and I was notified my Wednesday afternoon one was cancelled, but I still have to go that day since I have one in the morning. So, my school year is effectively starting next week. And what do those ignorant anti-education folks out there say? Two and a half months of vacation? Kiss my ass! I’ve only had a month of non-school related duties.

I also had a very interesting time this past week, keeping my friend’s son two days. The second day I had to run my mom around and take care of some things at the DMV and bank, and then we went out to a friend’s who recently discovered some baby pictures of me. I’m making up for my grumpiness with all these photos. Enjoy!

 

 ~ Last Week  on G1000W ~

I was kind of bummed this week and just hid in the blanket fort with Baby.

 

~ This Week on G1000W ~

  • Monday
    • Cover Characteristic ~ Schools
    • Audiobook Review ~ The Reluctant Assassin
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ Things Books Have Made Me Want To Learn or Do
    • First Chapter First Paragraph ~ Regarding Anna
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday
    • Famous Last Words #12
  •  Friday
    • Feature Follow Friday ~ My Stance on DNF

 

~ New Arrivals to Land of 1000 Wonders ~

I went casually browsing and picked up these two. I was trying to be very Scrooge McDuck with my choices.

28110078 30345737

~ Around Town in the Spotlight ~

I’m starting to think about giving up this section and adding something different. What are your thoughts? What would you like to see instead?

 

 ~ Open Giveaways ~

The SockKids Say NO to Bullying | Photo Contest by Author Christy Deveaux

17 thoughts on “Sunday Post ~ Release the Kraken

  1. Next week my Miguel has to go to a “mandatory” convention for his job. This is the first year he won’t have to be on duty while he is there, but ll the meetings are mandatory. Even though he has to leave home and his family, and work though the weekend, they only pay him his regular salary. It’s really BS. I am sorry to hear that you have something similar. Teachers should get breaks, like students do.
    You are so brave taking a kid to DMV. Although I bet any state’s DMV is better then here in Connecticut. I had to go recently to get the motorcycle endorsement for my license and I waited like 3 hours, in several lines, even though I took a 3 day course as required by the state. Looks like he made it fun!
    I hope you have a great week despite the meetings.

    • Yes, it really does stink. We’re just expected to give up our summer and plans, with no advance notice. I know someone who will be in Washington D.C. She flew out this morning. If push comes to shove, someone could take it to TCTA and would win. The location we went to wasn’t a full-blown DMV, it was some kind of branch. They didn’t do licenses and it was actually pretty empty and quiet. I’m terrified of ever going to get my license renewed. Thanks for visiting!

  2. I think anyone who really believes teachers actually have all summer off have never worked in education. Both my girls are education majors – one early, one secondary – and we’ve talked some about that and the crap they will end up hearing. Looks like you did have a good week though! That raccoon!! So cute and it looks like you and your friend’s son had a good time. Have a great week!

  3. That sucks about the training and not even getting paid. I have a few teacher friends who have to start way before the actual school year starts. And they’re having to supplement their income in other ways. Crazy. Well, good luck and try not to let it stress you too much. But omg … the raccoon is sooooo cute!

    • That’s why it grates me so much when people are smarmy and trash teachers. They don’t even know. We give up our own families to teach and half-raise other people’s children. So many hours of our lives given up. Thanks for stopping in, Christy!

  4. I’ve been sick, so reading wasn’t an issue but I had reviews piling up! Ten would make me panic. I had four and stopped reading till I caught up, then had four more..lol. It is nice to be scheduled out. Bummer about all the classes. Hopefully the week flies by 🙂

  5. Yeah, people who don’t really know what it’s like to teach have no idea how much of that so-called vacation time is actually spent working, preparing classes, getting the curriculum ready, meetings, training and more… Hang in there, Charlie! I hope your training this week will be interesting!
    Baby racoon is cute 🙂 I don’t think I’d dare to pick him up, though…
    Have a wonderful week and happy reading.

  6. Yay for catching up on reviews! I’m a couple behind, I think. I was really hoping to spend a part of last week writing posts and scheduling them out, but no such luck. I’ve dedicated a good portion of my Fridays to blogging up until now, but with my daughter home on those days now, it’s all but impossible. I’m not complaining though. I enjoy the time with her.

    I feel for you having to attend trainings your not even getting paid for. It’d be different if it was something you wanted to do for personal reasons. A teacher’s job is never really done, is it?

    Love the photos! What a fun time! I hope you have a good week!

    • That’s so good that you have that time with her! I give up my blog for all the time with the man I get. No, a teacher’s job is never done. I wish more people understood that. We don’t get to cross things off our lists because there is so much all the time. Thanks for visiting!

  7. Oh that is annoying that you have to go to training activities outside of work – I get annoyed by expectations that we’re prepared to give up excessive amounts of personal time for work. I used to do that in my previous life but no longer. Of course in saying that I stupidly check my work emails on days off etc…

Leave a Reply

