WWW Wednesdays (July 20)

 img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

I didn’t manage to get my post completed last week since I wasn’t up to it, and then when I felt like it I was out for the day with my brother home on his two-week leave…and of course it was too late!

I’m also pleased to announce that with my review of Caught Bread Handed added to NetGalley, I officially climbed up a percentage point! I also need to add another review for a book I haven’t written up yet, and then that will be my focus for the remainder of the year. Every week you should ask me which books are NetGalley. :/

7

I started reading A Love that Never Tires and it’s taking me a while to work through it. I didn’t realize how long it was. I am really liking Linley’s character. It is set in 1913 and there have been a couple of things I have questioned being available or proper even during this advanced time period.

Linley Talbot-Martin is a girl who likes to get her hands dirty. As the daughter of a famous archaeologist, she’s been everywhere and seen everything—except London. When the Talbot-Martin team travels there for her father’s investiture, Linley finally gets her wish. But when the time comes to trade her jodhpurs and work boots for silk gowns and kid gloves, she may be in over her head.

Even though she can out-ride, out-shoot, and outsmart any girl in London society, Linley is destined to be the failure of the season. No one she meets cares about ancient pottery or lost Buddhist texts, and fundraising efforts for future expeditions keep coming up short. If the Talbot-Martin team doesn’t find money soon, they will be out of a job, and Linley will lose everything she holds dear.

Patrick Wolford, Marquess of Kyre (pronounced ‘Keer’), is a man who knows his place. Well-connected and respected, he is everything everyone expects him to be, but beneath his façade, he is as neglected and crumbling as the family estate. Now the strain of keeping up appearances is taking its toll. The smart thing would be to marry the heiress nipping at his heels and be done with it, but when he meets Linley Talbot-Martin, who dares to shake up his seemingly proper world, he must choose between the life he’s always known and one he never dared to dream of.


 What did you just finish reading?

Since I last saw you two weeks ago, I have finished a handful of books despite my nearly week-long anti-book attitude. I am hella behind on reviews (I had over ten to write!), so all but SockKids will be rolling out in the coming weeks.

Awkward was incredible. The setting and situations are perfect for middle and high school students. If you know one, please get them this book! It speaks to so many issues they face at that age: fitting in, peer pressure, keeping up, competing, doing the right thing. I love the solutions to the problems the characters came up with!

The Money Tree was interesting. I loved the younger brother’s character in this book. He is more than meets the eye!  I didn’t understand the fullness of the economic aspects because I don’t know too terribly much in that realm, but the premise is one that does pose several questions for thought. Since I don’t know how to talk to the economic side of things, I thought Dianne summed them up pretty well in her Goodreads review:

Has Helen Yeoman made a powerful statement regarding the monetary system, economics, and the fragile balance of modern finance? We all have said, thought, wished that money grew on trees, but have we thought about the ramifications or the responsibility of such a thing? Driven by it’s whimsical, and offbeat characters, The Money Tree is an often humorous look at what could happen if one’s green thumb had the Midas Touch.

I adored The Earl’s New Bride! It was a refreshing read that truly featured two characters with flaws beyond the tropes. An ethereal beauty with a speech impediment. A truly damaged male love interest. And all of the potential brides start coming down with sudden ailments. DUN DUN DUN!

I read The SockKids Say NO to Bullying for the review tour going on through August. My review went up Monday for the first day. Go check it out!


What do you think you’ll read next?

Review Tour Books   YAY! 🙂

TBR Jar Books 

The pre-TBR Jar list is getting shorter and shorter!


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (July 20)

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed ‘Awkward’ so much. The cover is adorable. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  2. Yay for all the progress you’ve made! Glad to see COYER is helping you as much as it seems to be helping me in clearing through books. 🙂
    Thanks for visiting my post, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

