Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Children’s Books I Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme feature created at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists. For the list of past topics and future schedule, click here.


Popular Children’s Books I Never Read 

I grew up in a small town that didn’t have a true public library until I was in middle school. My mom bought me books only through the Scholastic order forms and book fairs. Being one of four children, it was very limited what I could pick. Once I started getting past about 3rd grade, I got even fewer books so my younger brothers could get books. I primarily checked out books from my school library, but these are books I never read as a child…and still haven’t.

Series

The Chronicles of Narnia

Nancy Drew

A Series of Unfortunate Events

Pollyanna

The Boxcar Children

 

Series (1)

Swiss Family Robinson

Treasure Island

Black Beauty

A Wrinkle in Time

The Bridge to Terabithia

 

Were there any popular books you didn’t read as a child? 

 

Upcoming Topics:

July 5 ~ Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2,000 Goodreads Ratings  (An easy way to do this: Go to Goodreads, Your Read List, at the top of your read list where it says Settings you can add a column for # of ratings to sort by)
July 12 ~ Facts About Me (bookish or just general about you facts or ten facts about you as a blogger)
July 19 ~ Books Set Outside The U.S.
July 26 ~ Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Children’s Books I Never Read

  1. I read Narnia. Yulk and bleck. No, I would not go back and re-read it.

    Treasure Island: Yes, yes, yes! I read it several times when I was 11 and twleve. I just happened to go back and read it again last week! Serendipity! Yes, it stands the test of time! I love that book! {Other Robert Louis Stevenson books, not so much…}

    • I do want to read Narnia just to say I’ve read them, and I think I have an ebook of Treasure Island on my Kindle. I should have been smart and did an inventory as I got books. There’s no telling what’s on that thing!

  2. Great topic choice! I loved Narnia, Nancy Drew, Pollyanna and Wrinkle in Time. Bridge to Terabithia shocked me as a kid. I only read an abridged version of Black Beauty (I think), and Series of Unfortunate Events and The Boxcar Children were both after my time. Of the ones I read, only Narnia and Wrinkle in Time still resonate for me–but I cannot re-read The Horse and His Boy, because it’s super racist, or The Last Battle, because even as a kid I found it to be “the boring one.”

    • I remember a while back we did the reverse of this topic, and there were so many books I realized I hadn’t read as a kid that were very popular. I do really want to read Chronicles of Narnia, and I think I have Treasure Island. The others aren’t that much of a priority.

  3. Anne of Green Gables and The Boxcar Children are among the series I never read as a child. I’ve seen the Pollyana movie, but never read the book. I didn’t read The Bridge to Terabithia until I was an adult. Great topic!

  4. While I’ve read most of these, I think I read many of them as an adult. I too grew up in a town with a lame-o library! Thanks for sharing this at the Booknificent Thursday link-up on Mommynificent.com this week!
    Tina

Leave a Reply

