May Chit Chat

Monthly Chit Cat

May News

May brought a lot of rain to my area. We had flooding again and there were folks whose bodies were recovered. I don’t know how much more news personnel and law enforcement agencies can stress TURN AROUND, DON’T DROWN. It’s just sad and senseless, and often puts emergency rescue crew’s lives at risk. Despite all this rain, I am sure once summer fully hits we will still be in a drought.

May brought state testing and the man’s dad to town. I loved having his dad here. They are really good at ribbing each other. I think his dad was alright with it being me. 🙂 Of course, May brings a conclusion to the school year. We still have two days in June, but we are all done and ready to get out those doors.

May also brought the man flying home for his grandmother’s funeral on Memorial Day. We embraced at the drop off and the carload of people behind us gawked on the sidewalk! Good to know we can make heads turn, eh?

May Reads and Reviews

Average Rating: 4.55
Pages Read: 2,017
Favorite Book: Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

I also read the novella Noble Secrets. Reviews for it and Lost in Yonkers to come.

Noteworthy Posts

May was a little lesser in terms of stats. Around 1470 views. It’d be nice to have 2K consistently. I was on and off with commenting, so I know that is a little bit. I’m not stressing about it, though. With summer coming, I expect to be commenting and visiting more – and I’m going to get my Bloglovin set up properly!

The most popular post by far was my review of 27 Days to Midnight. That was also the day that had the highest pageviews! Despite this being the most popular review, I felt the best review I wrote was Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.

My discussion post of series vs. stand alones garnered quite a bit of attention and commentary.

This month I was falling down on the job for my Famous Last Words feature, but I’m hoping to bring it back full force for June!

Challenge Updates

In May my challenges were not even on my radar. Although I made a bit of progress on a few, it hasn’t been phenomenal.

June Reads

Y’all, I’m dreaming big! I hope to finish all these books in June!

12 thoughts on “May Chit Chat

  1. Sorry to hear about all the flooding and the people who didn’t make it, that is sad. I think sometimes people don’t realize how dangerous the water can be, but you’re right then someone has to rescue them! Anyway I have 27 Days on my TBR now and the cover of that one is so good. 🙂

    For June, I think The Neverland War looks fun!

  2. I’m sorry about the flooding, that is so awful and scary. You definitely had a great reading month and I’m going to check out your review of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.

    My May Recap!

  3. Sorry to hear about the flooding. We had a flooding happened to us last year and it was not pretty. But, everyone came out of it fine and I’m glad you are doing well!

      • How terrible! I always think it’s crazy when people try to drive through our street when it floods – and it’s not even dangerous (at least not to the people – a few cars have come out worse for wear). I can’t imagine if people were dying because of it!!

  4. What a month! I agree that your review of Hotel on the Corner… was fabulous! Well done, and have a great June. Thanks so much for sharing this post and link-up at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com this week! Great to have you!
    Tina

Leave a Reply

