First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros: Four Chambers

First Chapter First Paragraph

Today I’m participating in First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros, hosted by Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea, in which bloggers share a bit about a book they’re reading or planning to read soon.


Alright, so I didn’t start reading The Neverland Wars yet from last week. Instead, I went on to the fifth book in the Power of the Matchmaker series, Four Chambers. I am hooked!

26255162

Chapter 1

“Give me the paint,” I said, hoping Janette heard the threat in my voice. She was coming seriously close to getting demoted from favorite roommate to homeless person.

“Andra, think about this for a minute.” She danced out of my reach and held the paint can above her head. Pretty much anyone could do that to me. It was the curse of being five foot three. I made a jump for it, my dark ponytail swinging into my vision, causing me to miss my target.

“If you spray paint the word tool on his truck, you’ll not only get into legal trouble – arrested and fined for criminal mischief and vandalism and all that – but you’ll also probably lose your scholarship, and likely your future placement at UMASS. Is that what you want?”


Synopsis

Every time Andra Stone crosses paths with Everett Covington, trouble follows. First she loses her scholarship. Then she loses the apartment she’d wanted more than anything. But tragedy hits hardest when she loses her grandmother—the best friend Andra has ever known. She determines that Everett is a talisman of ill fortune. When Everett comes to work in her hospital and is applying for the same position she’d been working toward since residency, Andra believes him to be her personal poltergeist.

The human heart has four chambers—four chances to get it right. Andra has only one chance left.

Would you keep reading?  

8 thoughts on “First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros: Four Chambers

  1. I think I’d want to know how racey it was going to get first. Thanks so much for sharing this post and link-up at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com this week! Great to have you!
    Tina

    • It’s actually not racey. It is clean with the exception of a choice word here and there, appropriately placed. The real premise is the Chinese proverb of the red string, which we often call soulmates, and how many times Andra and Everett have to coincide (often in difficult situations or in less than ideal circumstances). It was a really sweet story.

Leave a Reply

