Thoughts on Thursday: Those Suuuuummmer Reeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaads

2016-Discussion-Challenge

Those Suuuuummmer Reeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaads


Now do you get the title? 🙂

Do your reading habits change in the summer? Do you find yourself reading more whimsical books, knowing that summer will eventually come to an end and real life will resume?

Summer is soon upon us. Unless you live in Texas. It’s already summer the first of May.

Once summer is officially here and I am no longer a slave to the public education system is when I notice the change in my summer reading habits. I don’t necessarily read summery genres, but I do read more.

A LOT more.

Last summer (May 1 – August 31) I read 28 books. That’s an average of of 7 books per month. A couple of them were lengthy. I also taught summer school all through May and half of June, as well as attending multiple 3 and 4 day PDs, so it was not a true reflection of my summer reading, but 2014 was!

The previous summer (2014) I read 39 books in that same time frame. That’s almost ten books each month, nearly double what I read on average for a good month.

Since my summers truly operate exactly like a summer (unless I have work obligations, re: summer school, required PD), I enjoy spending that time catching up with old and new friends in books.

I have no problem reading all day long. Sometimes I even forget to eat, and I put off doing other things just to simply read. It is an indulgence and a pleasure that I don’t typically get to enjoy at such extended lengths. I usually have to read my books in short bursts whenever I have free moments. To sit down and read an entire book in one sitting is marvelous.

It is now that prime summer time, and I’m going to enjoy my books all the way til the start of the new school year. 🙂

Do you notice your summer reading habits change?

How does your reading change for summer?

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday: Those Suuuuummmer Reeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaads

  1. I’m almost the opposite for the exact same reasons! Once summer hits the kids are out of school and I’m way more tired by the end of the day! Plus summer heat in Alabama ends up zapping what I have left of my motivation. This is not the time of year for me to tackle classics or anything that requires lots of thinking. I’m all about mysteries and romantic suspense this time of year.

  2. I totally got the title of this before seeing the picture. 🙂

    I’m a teacher too, and yes, I read more in the summer. I also read most of my professional reading, because I actually have brain space to think. I’m more willing to tackle long books during the summer too.

  3. That is awesome that some days you read the whole day! I don’t get any sort of summer break and summer can be busy for me so I don’t think the amount I read changes but I definitely pick up books in the summer to get me in the mood

Leave a Reply

