Feature Follow Friday ~ May 6, 2016

feature-and-follow
Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The goal of Feature & Follow is to meet new bloggers, make friends, and gain readers.

My Favorite Genres

Four years ago, pre-blogging me, I would have had a very narrow favorite genres list. Heck, I had a very narrow “will read” list. Blogging has made me broaden my horizons and expand my genres.

Romance 

This will always be a favorite genre. I love the sweet and fuzzies, the hot and heavies. I know how these will end. Being an introvert, I don’t like surprise, so knowing there is a specific ending is a good thing. I don’t know how the ending will come about, but I know it will end in a particular way.

Historical

I am a big history buff, so I am naturally drawn to historical anythings. Historical fiction, you got a friend in me! I am fascinated by different time periods and what life was like then, especially for women.

Chick Lit & Women’s Fiction

I am a woman. Duh. This is the equivalent of men liking military and high action stuff. Chick lit is focused on women and often humorous. Sometimes it’s nice for that pick-me-up. I also highly regard the more literary version of chick lit, Women’s Fiction. I believe there is a distinct difference despite some lumping the two together. I am by no means placing on above or below the other; I’m simply stating they are two separate but similar genres.

Middle Grades 

Whenever I’m in a slump, I always make sure to pick up a middle grades book. They are that sweet mix of childlike innocence without the angst and drama of YA. Middle grades are just fun!

 

What is your favorite genre? 

3 thoughts on “Feature Follow Friday ~ May 6, 2016

  1. I agree that middle-grades are fun. I also enjoy historical fiction, although I haven’t read that many historical fiction novels. I’m usually reading fantasy or sci-fi.

Leave a Reply

