WWW Wednesdays (April 27)

 img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

I have found myself in yet another reading slump. I just don’t have any motivation! I need y’all’s help! What do you find as the best thing to do when you are caught in a slump? I might need to try some different things to get the mojo back, so leave me a comment!

I finally started a NEW book! It is still slow going, as each time I went to pick it up my eyes were already drooping due to this new sleep medication I’m taking. Yay sleep!

siren_400

I started reading The Siren by Elicia Hyder. This is the second book in the Soul Summoner series. I reviewed the first book (Soul Summoner) a while back on the blog and it was a phenomenal story. The plot was so complex and the beginning was crucial to the ending.

All the missing victims of North Carolina’s deadliest serial killer have been found, all except Rachel Smith. When the FBI produces a photo proving Rachel is alive and well in Texas, one case is closed but another one is opened. Either this is a case of mistaken identity or there are more people than just Sloan Jordan and Warren Parish who seem to walk the earth without a soul.

Along with Detective Nathan McNamara, Sloan and Warren travel south to find Rachel and solve the biggest mystery of all: determining who—or what—they really are.

23302416I brought my copy of Wonder home that a student bought for me, but I have yet to have time to go back and read the sections I’ve missed due to trainings or our yearbook bootcamp field trip on my homeroom days. My homeroom kids have continued reading on without me, and I have a few who loved the book so much they got a copy and finished on their own. I have also convinced my mother to read Wonder. Our city’s Wonder Run 5K was last weekend. Although I didn’t participate, the photos and testimonies from participants were fantastic.

15997095The Reluctant Assassin (W.A.R.P. #1) is still on hold  right now. This was an audiobook from last summer’s SYNC releases. This week I saw one of my students with this book returning it to the library, and I got very excited to ask him if he finished it. Often my kids will randomly select books, read them for a couple days, and return them. Unfortunately, that is exactly what he did, so we couldn’t talk about this book. I wanted his opinion because I am starting to think of DNFing this one, but I really want to get all my audiobooks read for this coming summer’s new ones – that will be released in two weeks!


 What did you just finish reading?

6372667After stalwartly avoiding finishing this book, I finally finished Liberty Frye and the Sails of Fate. I really do think the two big reasons I couldn’t get through this one was the pacing and the fact that it’s the second book in the series. I didn’t understand the character relationships or much of the backstory. It just kind of all jumbled together for me, and I became an awkward turtle (or should I say ostrich?) with my head in the sand.


What do you think you’ll read next?

This category is broken up into two separate sections. Y’all have been seeing the same books down here for weeks months now, and most of them have been TBR Jar books, but I’ve been receiving several review tour books recently.

TBR Jar Books 

I’ve decided to sneak these books in pre-TBR Jar. I planned on reading these first, so I didn’t put them in my TBR Jar, but they basically go in the jar. These are books I want to read up on to clear out my Kindle. The first on my list of to-read’s is to get The Money Tree off of my backlog.

Review Tour Books

These are my upcoming review tour books from the end of April through May.


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (April 27)

  1. I love Wonder! Definitely one of my favorite reads last year. I hope you will be able to get out of your reading slump soon! 🙂

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

  2. I’m super excited for 27 Days to Midnight especially now that I’ve met the author – her release party is in my area, but I can’t go to it due to work, unfortunately.
    When I’m in a reading slump, I’ll go back and reread a book that really touched me, either with laughter, tears, or both. That usually helps me gear up to go back into reading new books.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW, and good luck getting over your slump!

  3. I have taken breaks from reading in the past when I just didn’t feel like it. I usually use the time to catch up on good TV I’ve been missing to read! And sleep. I often skip sleep to read, so it’s good to get some proper rest. I hope the medication is meaning you’re feeling more rested.

    I haven’t read any of the WARP series, but I have enjoyed a few of the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer… sounds like I should stick with them instead of switching the WARP though 🙂

    Thank for visiting my WWW post earlier (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesday-27th-april-2016/) and I hope you have some happy, non-slumpy reading this week!

  4. I hope you enjoy ’27 Days to Midnight.’ I’m going to Kristine’s release party on Tuesday and I’m excited to get my copy signed by her then. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  5. The Siren sounds interesting. I have heard great things about Wonder. I did have it from the library but other books just got in the way. Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

