Teaser Tour + Giveaway: Lost Souls

Today we’re excited to share the Teaser Tour for Lost Souls, book two in the Pendragon Chronicles, which can be picked up at the pre-order price of $2.99 and, if you haven’t yet joined Jake Winters on his thrilling journey, you can pick up The Rain, book one in the series, for the limited time offer price of 99c. Pendragon Chronicles is an adult dark urban fantasy series. Lost Souls releases March 31st, 2016.

About Lost Souls:

The temperature is falling, and something evil rides the wind…

A relative calm has settled over Longbrooke since The Artist’s demise. Jake and Ivy distract themselves from their grief by keeping the coast clear of minor beasts, while Dean works to maintain
the facade that Crystal is still alive. With the festive season almost upon them, the gang want nothing
more than to creep silently into the New Year. But a storm is brewing in the sleepy little town, and Jake will soon discover that the calm before the storm can be destructively deceptive when it hits, no one will be left unscathed.

 

 Excerpt

Dean’s eyes pinched at the corners as he studied Jake “Where in London are you from? I’m not great with placing accents, but I’m guessing east, from the way you speak. I’ve been trying to place it since I met you.”

Jake laughed. “Hackney is my manor, or ‘Ackney as I should say.”

Dean grinned. “So you’re a cockney, then?”

“Born under the Bow Bells.”

“That’s really cool.”

Jake laughed. “Glad you think so. Greg does too.”

“So, where did you live?”

“We had a flat in Hoxton when I was younger. I moved away with my mum when I was ten.”

“Oh.”

“Yep. We moved to Brighton. Dad… I missed him so much, but we made it work. I moved back with him eight years later, after mum died…” He trailed off. He wasn’t comfortable speaking about his past. His family were his own private concern.

“I’m sorry.”

Jake smiled weakly and pushed his food around on his plate.

“Is your dad still in Hoxton?”

“Yep. Still there.”

Dean waited a beat. “Did you live in Hackney with Michael?”

Why all the questions? “No. Dulwich. The house is still there, empty.” But full of him…

“Very nice. Just how much money do you have?”

Jake’s cheeks flushed. “Rude.”

Dean snorted. “Ha! Sorry, mate. You ever going back there?”

Jake shrugged and sipped some more wine.

“Well, it’s cool to meet a proper cockney.”

“My dad is what I’d call a proper cockney from a time long gone—has the full accent, whips out the rhyming slang and everything. My mum was what my dad called a ‘posh bird’ from St. Albans with a plum in her mouth. Cheeky would define my father. You could say my accent was influenced by them both.” He smiled at the memory of those days. Even though his mum and dad had divorced, they got along really well. They just weren’t in love anymore. It’d been hard living away from his dad, but that was the decision that had been made. He never did find out why, but it didn’t stop him being close to his father.

Dad… His smile faded. He shook the potential thoughts away before they could hurt him.

“I get that,” Dean continued. “And I can hear that. But being born under the Bow Bells does make you a proper cockney.”

“I know, but if you knew my dad, you’d know what I mean. I may have an accent, but bloody hell my dad is brilliant.” Jake felt a stab at his heart, but smiled through it, thinking of his dad’s fun side.

Again, Dean took a beat to continue. “Teach me some rhyming slang.”

Jake chuckled. “Me bleedin’ plates are killing me.”

“Plates? Hang on…” He looked up at the ceiling, trying to work it out. “Shit! Go on, tell me.”

“Plates of meat means feet. But you’d just say plates.”

“I know one,” Dean said.

“Yeah?”

“Apples and pears is stairs.”

“Get off the dog!”

Dean laughed. “You what?”

“Dog and bone is phone.”

Dean slapped his thigh. “I fucking love it.” He raised his glass. “To the cockneys.”

“To the cockneys.”

Don’t miss out on book one, The Rain!
On sale now for only .99c on Amazon! Or check it out on Goodreads.

About the Author

Amos Cassidy is the pen name for Richard Amos and Debbie Cassidy. Amos is a 32 year old Diva and Cassidy a 39 year old mother of three; well, four if you include the husband. A common love of all things Joss Whedon, Urban Fantasy, and a tug of war over Jensen Ackles, brought them together, and one cold February afternoon, over nibbles and coffee, their partnership was born.

You can find Cassidy hard at work in her fortress of solitude which has eaten up the majority of her garden, and Amos…well he’s still trying to get the invisibility gizmo he got off a friendly alien in exchange for a pair of earphones to work. Funnily enough he hasn’t been seen around much lately…

Frequent doses of Sugary snacks, coupled with regular injections of caffeine aid in their production of a unique brand of cross genre tales. They are always writing, but are happy to take a break to chat to their wonderful readers, so drop them a line at amoscassidy.com, or just pop over to see what they’re working on and they’ll bust out the biscuit tin.

Giveaway
$25 Amazon gift card & digital copies of Aurora and Hawthorn by Amos Cassidy (INT)
Ends 4/6
Prizing is provided by the author, hosts are not responsible. Must be 13 or older to enter and parental permission if under 17. Void where prohibited by law. No purchase necessary to win.
This event was organised by CBB Book Promotions.
2 thoughts on “Teaser Tour + Giveaway: Lost Souls

Leave a Reply

