WWW Wednesdays (March 23)

img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

28166545

A Buss from Lafayette is what I am just starting on. It is historical fiction and releases in April. This is for a tour in mid- April.

Fourteen-year-old Clara Hargraves lives on a farm in Hopkinton, a small New Hampshire town, during the 19th century. She has a couple of big problems. First of all, she has a stepmother, Priscilla, who used to be her spinster schoolteacher aunt. Clara, still grieving for her mother, resents that her late mother’s older sister has not only married her father but is about to have a baby. To make matters worse, “Prissy Priscilla” keeps trying to make the rambunctious, clever, and witty Clara act like a proper young lady. Secondly, Clara has red hair, making her a target for teasing by a handsome older boy, Dickon Weeks, and by her pretty seventeen-year-old Dread Cousin Hetty. Clara, however, has a secret plan she hopes will change this.

During the last week of June, 1825, Clara’s town is abuzz because the famous General Lafayette is about to visit11925514 their state during his farewell tour of America. In those eventful seven days, Clara learns a lot about her family, Hetty, Dickon, and herself. In addition, she hears many stories from her family, neighbors, veterans, and from Lafayette himself. Through these tales, she comes to understand the huge and vital role the French aristocrat played in American’s Revolutionary War. She might also come to see that her own problems are not quite so terrible after all.

Code Name Verity is still on hold. I have wanted to finish this for the last two weeks, but now I am shooting to have it finished before the end of March. Then it will count for my March Take Control of Your TBR Pile Challenge!


 What did you just finish reading?

336795623435737I finished reading Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet and Colony East last week. I was surprised that I flew through HOTCOB&S in two days! I loved it, and my heart broke. I wanted a particular ending, and I sort of got it, but I wanted more. I suppose I am sometimes a selfish and demanding reader. The book ended exactly as it should have.

As for Colony East, it was quite a bit different than the first book in the trilogy. I’m on the fence about whether to buy the third book and just finish it off. I probably should, right? It’s one book and then I’ll be done.


What do you think you’ll read next?

Alright. I’ve decided to break this category up into two separate sections. Y’all have been seeing the same books down here for weeks months now, and most of them have been TBR Jar books, but I’ve been receiving several review tour books recently.

TBR Jar Books 

I’ve decided to sneak these books in pre-TBR Jar. I planned on reading these first, so I didn’t put them in my TBR Jar, but they basically go in the jar. These are books I want to read up on to clear out my Kindle. The first on my list of to-read’s is to get The Money Tree off of my backlog.

Review Tour Books

These are my upcoming review tour books from the end of April through May.

 


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

14 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (March 23)

    • Diana, review tours are organized by tour companies, which is an entirely online enterprise. An author wants to promote their book around the web, get 20 or so initial reviews with high ratings on Amazon and Goodreads, they find a tour company to book a tour with. This is popular when a book first releases, or after it has been out for over a year. At least, that is what I have seen. Bloggers sign up, receive copies of the book and HTML for their posts, and insert their reviews and any other materials (such as an excerpt, author interview or guest post). The tour organizer is paid by the author. The bloggers do not receive any proceeds.

  1. Ohhh I’m interested in A Buss from Lafayette. I knew who it was about as soon as I saw the title. And now I have the song from Hamilton in my head. lol.

  2. I suppose for the Colony East sequel you could always just borrow the third one and then decide whether or not to buy it. And I’m so glad you like HOTCOB&S — it is one of the most heartbreakingly sweet books I’ve read (as compared with just one or the other). Very aptly named and very beautifully written. I hope you get Code Name Verity back soon.

Leave a Reply

