WWW Wednesdays (March 16)

img_1384-0

This is a weekly meme hosted hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World of Words. To join in answer the following three questions and hop over to Sam’s and leave your link.


What are you currently reading? 

The other day – (Monday)  to be specific – I was laptopless and Kindleless. It was sad times, so I picked up a book I just happened to grab off my bookshelf before leaving last Friday. I am spending the entire spring break with the man, and brought one book and two graphic novels along — just in case! Since I was bored to tears, I picked up the book I ordered who knows how long ago and started in on it. BONUS: It is a read from my TBR Jar!

It was nothing like I expected. And so much more. I am now almost done with the book. I spent most of yesterday reading it in our lovely 90s weather with my feet in Baby’s pool. It was surprisingly very nice. Now if only we can work up to a real pool…

3367956Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is exactly that. The further I got into the book and the more convoluted and secretive the plot became, I found myself on several occasions aching for Henry, the main character.

In the opening pages of Jamie Ford’s stunning debut novel, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, Henry Lee comes upon a crowd gathered outside the Panama Hotel, once the gateway to Seattle’s Japantown. It has been boarded up for decades, but now the new owner has made an incredible discovery: the belongings of Japanese families, left when they were rounded up and sent to internment camps during World War II. As Henry looks on, the owner opens a Japanese parasol.

This simple act takes old Henry Lee back to the 1940s, at the height of the war, when young Henry’s world is a jumble of confusion and excitement, and to his father, who is obsessed with the war in China and having Henry grow up American. While “scholarshipping” at the exclusive Rainier Elementary, where the white kids ignore him, Henry meets Keiko Okabe, a young Japanese American student. Amid the chaos of blackouts, curfews, and FBI raids, Henry and Keiko forge a bond of friendship–and innocent love–that transcends the long-standing prejudices of their Old World ancestors. And after Keiko and her family are swept up in the evacuations to the internment camps, she and Henry are left only with the hope that the war will end, and that their promise to each other will be kept.

Forty years later, Henry Lee is certain that the parasol belonged to Keiko. In the hotel’s dark dusty basement he begins looking for signs of the Okabe family’s belongings and for a long-lost object whose value he cannot begin to measure. Now a widower, Henry is still trying to find his voice–words that might explain the actions of his nationalistic father; words that might bridge the gap between him and his modern, Chinese American son; words that might help him confront the choices he made many years ago.

Set during one of the most conflicted and volatile times in American history, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is an extraordinary story of commitment and enduring hope. In Henry and Keiko, Jamie Ford has created an unforgettable duo whose story teaches us of the power of forgiveness and the human heart.
2343573711925514I made a little more progress – actually, no – a LOT of progress through Colony EastThis one definitely goes in a different direction than the first, and has quite a bit of violence that took me off guard. And of course, enter the dystopian society. I hope it doesn’t end anything like I think it will.

When Abby’s little sister, Toucan, contracts a new, deadly illness spreading among the survivors, they go on a dangerous journey to Colony East, an enclave of scientists caring for a small group of children.

Abby fears that time is running short for Touk, but she soon learns that time is running out for everyone outside Colony East.

And Code Name Verity is still on hold. I am hoping to finish all of my current reads before Saturday ends.


 What did you just finish reading?

Nada. Still working in the reading department!


What do you think you’ll read next?

The wait is coming to a close! I am ecstatic to finally get started on these new books! I’ve been wanting to read them for a month months now, and I am finally making it. A Buss from Lafayette is an upcoming review book, and I’m working to get The Money Tree off of my backlog. The others are a split between NetGalley choices and some freebies.


 How about you? What are you reading this week?

Leave a comment with your answers! Share the link to your WWW Wednesday post OR leave your answers in the comments if you don’t have a blog. Happy Reading! 🙂

20 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (March 16)

  1. I read The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet years ago for a book club. I think I’m one of the rare people who didn’t love it. I thought it was good, just kind of slow. I hope you enjoy it more!

  2. I’ve had a couple of people recommend the Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet to me, but it’s one of those ones I keep pushing aside for other titles. I should try to get to it soon! Code Name Verity also sounds really great.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post! 🙂

  3. I haven’t read any of these, but I’ll be interested to see what you think. I’m definitely open to adding more books to my tbr pile. Lol. 🙂 Happy reading!

  4. The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet sounds really interesting. You have quite a varied selection on your TBR. Hope you get time to read and enjoy them. Happy Reading 🙂

  5. Ooh, I LOVE Code Name Verity! 😀 Although by “love” I mean, “it ripped my heart out and stomped on it and I am in pain”…ahem. So clearly I want to re-read eventually. ;D I’m currently reading This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab and Blue Lily Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater! (BLLB is a re-read though and omg I love that book so much.)

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

  6. Code Name Verity was an audio book for me and I really liked it–hope you enjoy. And I totally agree about Hotel on the Corner.

  7. I had similar thoughts on Ford’s book. Henry was a protagonist that was easy to like. Glad you enjoyed your vacation read. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  8. Hotel On The Corner Of Bitter And Sweet sounds really good! And I have had Cody Name Verity on my wishlist for a long time now, but somehow I never got a copy. Maybe soon, although I should try to read some of the unread books on my TBR pile first. 😉 Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

