Feature Follow Friday ~ February 19, 2016

feature-and-follow
Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The goal of Feature & Follow is to meet new bloggers, make friends, and gain readers.

Reasons I Read Historical 

The Story

Historical fiction always has an incredible story to me. It doesn’t matter where or when, I’m always drawn in.

The History

I’m a big history buff. I love reading about history from time periods I know or don’t know.

The Language

Typically the language is vastly different than it is today. The way the characters speak to one another  and behave is a different world than what I’m used to and it’s nice to get lost in that different time.

Independent Women

The status of women historically has been in a very patriarchal society. I like reading about women who buck that system. It may be quietly and slyly, or it may be open defiance. I like strong, independent women who do not bow down to societal constraints.

 

Reasons I Read Romance

The Slow Burn

Some people like the full on erotica, but I don’t. I like the slow burn in a romance. It makes those clandestine moments that much sweeter. And it means it’s not instalove.

Can’t Get No Satisfaction

There is typically a conflict that crops up between the love interests that is drives them apart. There have been times I’ve wept so hard you’d thought my own mother had just died, and then there were times I rolled my eyes huffily because it was such a stupid reason and the characters were being so pig-headed. The grief, people.

The Satisfaction

Always in the end there is satisfaction that the two love interests will wind up together. That’s why it’s called a romance. You know it will happen, so you’re already reassured and you have that satisfaction. You just don’t know how it’s going to happen.

And all these other reasons.

 

What is your favorite genre? What makes it so special?

Leave a Reply

