Cover Characteristics: Skylines

Cover Characteristics2

This is a new meme hosted by Sugar & Snark. It came about when Sugar was wondering which cover to use for her #70 Cover of the Week post. Sugar kept on thinking of more than one, and they all seemed to have a theme/characteristic. So she decided to switch things up a bit!

Each week we will post a characteristic and choose 5 of our favorite covers with that characteristic. If you want to join in and share your 5 favorite covers with the weeks particular characteristic, then just make a post, grab the meme picture (or make your own) and leave your URL in Linky (so we can visit). You don’t even need to participate, just stopping by and saying hi would be great! Don’t forget to stop by the other participants!

Today’s Cover Characteristic: Skylines

There are certain city skylines that are very distinctive and recognizable. Although not one of the top ones, I have always loved Austin’s skyline. It is close to home and familiar, but beautiful at the same time.

credit: kaanengroup
credit: kaanengroup

Upcoming Themes: 

And Then: Statue(s), Cemeteries/Tombstone(s), Framed picture(s)/photo(s), Gargoyle(s), hand(s), doorknob(s)

14 thoughts on “Cover Characteristics: Skylines

  1. I love the Austin skyline, too, Charlie. Nothing beats the connection of seeing/reading about home. I like your choices in covers. I think Everyone Brave is Forgiven is my favorite. There are some books on your list I’ve not heard of, so I’ll have to check them out.

  2. This is an interesting meme!

    I like skylines on covers. Since I read a lot of urban fantasy, I’m used to seeing city settings on covers (at least in the background). I’ve actually been thinking about something like that for the book I’m currently writing.

  3. Nice pic of Austin! Great choices this week- I especially like An American Journey and Roof Toppers, and Everyone Brave Is Forgiven is neat too. Christmas Ever after not bad with the bridge and everything. I think Roof Toppers might be my fave.

Leave a Reply

