Thankful Thanksgivings

finds you with plenty of reasons to give thanks!

This was the first year I did “Days of Thanks.” Not because I’m not thankful, but just because I never thought to articulate it before.

I have collected all of my Days of Thanks moments below…some are heartfelt, some are comical. Either way, I’m still thankful.

Day 1 – I am thankful my biopsy results came back negative!

Day 2 – I am thankful I had a mother who taught me how to be independent and self-sufficient.

Day 3 – I am thankful I have an annoying, bossy, nosy family…aka The Bowen Compound.

Day 4 – I am thankful for all of the amazing support I have from the best group of colleagues, friends and mentors.

Day 5 – I am thankful for my finishes-my-sentences, on-the-same-brainwave bestie Amanda. There are times I wonder about us…

Day 6 – I am thankful for my college experiences. I learned so much about life and growing up, and I did it on such a beautiful campus.

Day 7 – I am thankful for Texas. It has a feel that steals your soul and heart.

Day 8 – I am thankful for one leggy, floppy-eared Baby who shows her love freely and unconditionally. She is always happy to see me, unless I’ve just woken her up. Then she squints like the mole in Thumbelina.

Day 9 – I am thankful for Disney movies. They never go out of style or season.

Day 10 – I am thankful for music. I have found the niche that soothes my soul and my temperament.

Day 11 – I am thankful for everyfoodthing Mexican and Tex Mex. I have to keep the little Mexican girl deep down quiet or she comes raging out.

Day 12 – I am also thankful for french fries, which is what my energy meter runs on.

Day 13 – I am SO thankful I am strong enough.

Day 14 – I am thankful my mother listened when my teacher told her, “You’re child is going to fail the next grade” and she took action.

Day 15 – I am thankful I overcame my struggles to read and not only caught up to grade level, but I excelled higher than my peers. And now I love to read! I get annoyed if I have to stop!

Day 16: I am thankful some weirdo way back in history decided to drink the substance that is produced by cows because milk is my main drink!

Day 17 – I am thankful I have a roof over my head and the proper utilities I need when there are so many who don’t.

Day 18 – I am thankful my kids “love” me enough to spend their own $$$ to throw a pie in my face… which is happening tonight.

Day 19 – I am thankful for kindness, compassion, and empathy.

Day 20 – I am thankful for beautiful trees, especially oak trees and magnolias.

blueberry

Day 21 – I am thankful I inherited the green thumb in my family and I can bring things to life with a little dirt and a lotta love.

Day 22 – I am thankful for cows, pigs and chickens. Especially cows. (Can we have burgers for dinner?)

Day 23 – I am thankful for mementos and heirlooms, old pictures, family history and stories passed down generation to generation.

Day 24- I am thankful I am (relatively) healthy.

Day 25 – I am thankful I have a job.

Day 26 – I am thankful for love.

7 thoughts on “Thankful Thanksgivings

Leave a Reply

