Thoughts on Thursday: Guest Posts and Author Interviews

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

Guest Posts and Author Interviews

Lately I’ve been thinking about my blog tour reviews. This year I haven’t had very many author interviews or guest posts, at least not compared to the standards I set last year.

It’s got me thinking. How much traffic and interaction do these kind of posts create, compared to only the traditional review and giveaway?

There have been a few times when I really wanted an author interview or guest post and was overlooked in favor of other bloggers, and that’s fine. But these authors I really wanted to feature on my blog beyond the review. Most times I don’t sign up for those options if they are available, but I’ve been wondering if that’s a mistake.

 

What do you think? Do you participate in blog review tours? How often do you opt for a guest post or author interview? What factors into your decisions? Do you feel that you receive more interaction and traffic from the addition of a guest post or author interview? 

8 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday: Guest Posts and Author Interviews

  1. I do participate in blog review tours, but I find myself under a bit of pressure lately, as I do not like to have set deadlines to finish a book. I do it because I like to promote new authors & self-published authors, and also because I am interested in that specific book if I have signed up for the tour. I do not feel that there’s that much difference in terms of interaction and traffic to be fair (maybe more when there’s a giveaway).

  2. I find that I receive more interaction from reviews – especially when the author is active and participates in the comments. Some authors do and some authors don’t. I really love to feature an interview with an author who will participate too. Those are the BEST promotional posts, in my experience.

  3. I mostly focus on reviews, mostly because I rarely read interviews and guest posts myself – I sometimes skim them, but I rarely read the whole thing (unless it’s an author I’m already specifically really interested in or the topic is REALLY compelling). BUT I do love to post a list of the author’s top ten addictions if I can. I love that the list goes with my blog title and I really love having a list that’s fun and gives insight into the author, but is really quick and easy to read! I’m featuring two of these lists next week and request them a lot when I do tours (sometimes successfully, sometimes not).

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

  4. I never thought about traffic, tbh. I usually just do reviews for tours because guests posts are always so limited. I do read guest posts, and reviews. Nice food for thought.

  5. These are really good questions. I tend to do just reviews and giveaways, but I’d like to start doing more interviews and guest posts for variety. Thanks for sharing about this topic at Booknificent Thursday at Mommynificent.com this week! Always love to have your contributions!
    Tina

Leave a Reply

