Thoughts on Thursday: How You Archive Reviews

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

How You Archive Reviews

When I first started blogging, I was going to be a YA book blog. But I didn’t like the fact that I would only be reviewing YA, which meant I would only be reading YA since that’s all I had time to do. This lead me to set up my archives alphabetically, which I modeled after another blog. At the time I thought that was a good idea and the best set-up.

The only problem is I’ve been blogging for two years, and now I have a hodgepodge of reviews. The list is becoming very long, and you don’t really know what’s what until you click on a link, unless it’s something obvious (either well-known or children’s). Even for me to go back in and update the list takes a while to find the place a new review belongs.

I am considering the fact that I need a better way to archive my reviews. I’m just not sure how I should categorize my archives. I review children’s books, MG and YA books, and adult reads of various genres. Should I separate them in this way, or do I need to break it down even further?

I don’t want to start making any changes until I have some input because you guys are the ones who go looking through the archives. I want this to be a better, easier process for users and visitors because I know how to find things on the back-end of the blog.

First tell me how you archive your reviews in the poll. If you use a different system than is listed, tell me your system in the comments!

Do you review more than one genre or for more than one age group (i.e. children’s and adult fiction)?

How do you archive your reviews? By year; alphabetically; by year alphabetically; by genre, etc.?

If you were a subscriber of a blog who reviewed books for multiple age groups, what is your best suggestion for organizing the review archives?

9 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday: How You Archive Reviews

  1. Ok, so I hope this is what you mean:

    Do you review more than one genre or for more than one age group (i.e. children’s and adult fiction)? Yes

    How do you archive your reviews? By year; alphabetically; by year alphabetically; by genre, etc.? Each of my reviews is under ‘Reviews’ category and it has then relevant tags that include the name of the author and the genre. So then I created two different pages, one named ‘by genre’ and other ‘by author’ but you could put everything on the same page. The genres one is really easy, all I did was list all the genres and link them to the respective tags, example: https://nyareads.wordpress.com/tag/ya/ , so all my YA reviews are going to show up there automatically. For authors, it’s a bit more ‘boring’ because every time I read a new author, I have to go to the authors page and add that new author. My blog is very recent so there’s not much there yet. I hope this answered the question.

    If you were a subscriber of a blog who reviewed books for multiple age groups, what is your best suggestion for organizing the review archives? I’d say instead of using the ‘genre’ system, I’d use a division by age. You could use categories or tags!

  2. Charlie, you might consider signing up for Nosegraze’s Make WP Your B**** tutorial. One of the early lessons is about using Categories and Tags which applies to both WP.com and WP self-hosted sites. It got me thinking a lot about how I use categories and tags. I’ve slowly been making changes and utilizing tags more. I started looking at the search terms people use on my site and adding those tags to specific reviews if I can figure out what they are looking for. 🙂

    Oh, did I mention the tutorial is FREE! 🙂

  3. I am in agreement with Nicole I also use Noze Graze’s UBB program and I am happy with that I think the title and author is as good as it’s going to get for me. I didn’t even know what a review archive was before getting the program. In that I don’t vary in age very much I can’t relate to your problem but I like what someone said about doing an archive for each age range.

  4. I do lists by title and author (using the AWESOME features of UBB) but I’m thinking about adding genre. Only then I have to go through and add it to all my reviews. I do review children’s and adult books but I haven’t thought of separating them out — it’s something else to think about.

Leave a Reply

