Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books To Read If You Like Childhood Adventures

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme feature created at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists. For the list of past topics and future schedule, click here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ten Books To Read If You Like Childhood Adventures

Hobart Hucklebuck

cover1000Things are not as they should be in Pennywhistle. Enchanted toasters are not toasting, enchanted sprinklers are not sprinkling and Hobart Hucklebuck’s origami messenger birds are suddenly attacking him. Someone seems to be draining the power from all of the enchanted items in the village. But who could it be and why have they implicated Hobart’s grandfather? The trio’s investigation into the mysterious happenings on Druid Lane gets them into hot water more than once and ultimately brings them dangerously close to disaster not only for themselves, but the entire village of Pennywhistle. Hobart Hucklebuck and his friends must find a way to save – or rescue – his grandfather.

The Land of Stories

11607446I have only read the first book in the series, but I own the next two and plan to read them soon. The Land of Stories tells tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.  The classic and beloved fairy tales we grew up with are speckled with interesting quirks and some very interesting twists.

Book 1 – The Wishing Spell

Book 2 – The Enchantress Returns

Book 3 – A Grimm Warning

Book 4 – Beyond the Kingdoms

Kibble Talk

Every once in a while there’s a book that resounds with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Kibble Talk was a story that was very eye opening for me as a reader, as a child and as a pet owner. It made me think of things in a different light, especially my pet. Tawny discovers she can communicate with her Great Dane, Dinky. Dinky explains to Tawny that his fondest wish is to be a tiny lap dog and Tawny promises to help him become one. From helicopters to the five o’clock news, Tawny soon finds out what it means to make a promise to a friend. Along the way, her parents can’t help but question her sanity and her best friend Jenny turns into her worst enemy. Kibble Talk is a heartwarming and funny story. I laughed aloud many times. 🙂

Frankie Dupont

I have read the first two books in the series and I adore them both. Frankie is not your typical boy, but he is determined to hunt down his leads and solve the mysteries. As the series goes along, he starts picking up others into his entourage and I liked seeing him grow in positive ways with these other characters.

Book 1 – Frankie Dupont and the Mystery of Enderby Manor

Book 2 – Frankie Dupont and the Lemon Festival Fiasco

Book 3 – Frankie Dupont and the Science Fair Sabatoge

Book 4 – Frankie Dupont and the High Seas Hiest

Maisy and the Missing Mice

Maisy is a lot like Frankie Dupont, except she operates alone. Soley alone. And she takes payment in cherry lollipops. Unfortunately for Maisy, she is hot on the trail but her nosing around in this business starts to become a dangerous path for Maisy. Like Frankie, she’s not giving up. She has to outsmart the thief and find the school’s missing mice.

Book 1 – Maisy and the Missing Mice

Book 2 – Maisy and the Money Marauder

Super Cowboy Rides

Such a sweet, fun boy! Six-year-old Tommy Johnson is Super Cowboy and Super Story-teller.Want to build a box to capture wild cats that roam the farm? How about tips on catching a greased pig at the fair, or teaching a stubborn lamb to avoid being trampled by angry milk cows? From the first paragraph, when Tommy explains why a boy needs a dog for a pet instead of a cat, he never ceases to turn a situation into a humorous one. His days at home are all fun and games, until his brothers leave him in the lurch for something, but then he goes to school. And everything changes for Tommy in Super Cowboy Rides.

Deadly Delicious 

Josephine wants to be a regular girl, but her lineage brings fine dining and Creole soul food…laced with voodoo. There is a secret ingredient, of course, which is why it is Deadly Delicious. Josephine comes from a long line of conjure witches with spellbinding culinary skills. Despite her reputation for ruin when it comes to cooking and magic, Josephine discovers she’s the most wanted witch. She decides to delve into a little conjure, nothing major, just the usual recipes for undying friendship and revenge. Everything’s going good until the people of Paris start turning into zombies with a strange fondness for cake.

Prince Iggy

Prince-Iggy-and-the-Tower-of-DecisionsAll Iggy Rose wants is for the kids at the Naysayer Academy to like him. Instead, he gets teased and taunted. Every day, he eats alone in the cafeteria and gets beaten up after school on the playground. But when a cruel prank leads to Iggy’s escape from the academy, a wild, unimaginable adventure begins. Why is King Naysayer offering a hefty reward for Iggy’s capture? When Iggy joins forces with an eclectic cast of characters, he discovers the answer. But before he can escape from the kingdom of Naysayer, Iggy must first reclaim what is rightfully his.

In the second book, Iggy sets off with the Rose Kingdom subjects, meets the deceitful Rose Star and must enter the Tower of Decisions and come out on the other side to be ruler of the Rose Kingdom.

Book 1 – Prince Iggy and the Kingdom of Naysayer

Book 2 – Prince Iggy and the Tower of Decisions

Broken Branch Falls

Doing homework for bully ogres and getting laughed at as the butt of pixie pranks, Gabe is tired of his goblin life. When he and his friends step out of their nerdy stereotype and pull a prank of their own on the dragons at the first football game, it literally backfires, bringing a High Council vote to dismantle not only Gingko High, but the whole town, too!

The Book of Ages–hidden handbook of the High Council, filled with knowledge and power–may be Gabe’s only hope. With the help of friends old and new, can Gabe complete his quest to find the Book in time to save Broken Branch Falls? Or will he remain an outcast forever?

Relics of Mysticus

The Serpent's Ring (Relics of Mysticus, #1)I have read all three in the Relics of Mysticus series and I LOVED the books. Another sibling duo, Evan and Claire, find adventure and trouble in a magical land. The overarching story that they discover is woven within the three books in an incredible way, and the writing is wonderful. The author did an incredible job with the world building and it the first book is based loosely on Norse mythology. The journey continues in the second book with Native American culture and the final book is based on Arthurian legend.

Book 1 – The Serpent’s Ring

Books 2 – The Trickster’s Totem

Book 3 – The Dragon’s Egg

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books To Read If You Like Childhood Adventures

  1. I’m excited to show this list to my girls! We loved Frankie Dupont and Maisy, so I’m hoping they’ll find some new favorites here. Thanks for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday this week!
    Tina

    • When I was making my list (after I thought of my idea, which was a little stressful) I immediately thought of you and your kiddos. I hope you guys check out some of the other books and enjoy them. There’s also a new Maisy book coming out!! I just saw that this morning. I want to get caught up in that series. It’s so cute.

  2. Thank you so much for including Kibble Talk on your top ten list! If you’d like a digital copy of book 2 in the Kibble Talk series (entitled Dog Goner), I’d be happy to share.

      • Great! Dog Goner is a sequel, and I am working on book 3 in the series right now. 🙂

        Email me at cynthia.l.port@gmail.com and I will send you the pdf (or mobi or epub – whatever you prefer) of Dog Goner. It’s tough to get reviews at all, but especially for sequels, so I’d really appreciate a review on Amazon when you’re done. You may have put one up already for Kibble Talk, I’m not sure?

        If you want to do an author interview on your blog, I’m up for that too, with giveaways. I also like to let teachers know that I have a free books to teachers program where I send a signed print copy of Kibble Talk plus educational materials and will do a Skype author visit with their whole classroom and it’s all free! All they have to do is agree to use Kibble Talk as a read-aloud (and what could be more fun that than?). I’ve been skyping with classrooms all across the country! If you want to mention that on your blog, I have pics of all the materials I send out that your readers might like to see. I’m always trying to get the word out because I love teachers and they don’t get enough support.

        Cynthia

        Cynthia Port Author/Editor, s: http://www.cynthiaportbooks.com e: cynthia.l.port@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s