Sunday Post (September 20)

Sunday PostThe Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, a post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things received, and share news about what is coming up on the blog for the week ahead. To get in on the Sunday funday, see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lots of things happened last week…or maybe it’s just because so much is going on.

First things first because I hate ending on these notes. Four times each year I cannot ignore a particular health issue, and since this is the YEAR OF ALL THE HEALTH ISSUES (or perhaps it’s the Decade…), I couldn’t allow this particular issue to be ignored/glossed over by my doctors anymore. I pushed for more analysis into the issue and…I was diagnosed with Stage 0 cervical cancer last week.

I am staying positive, and I am trying to act like everything is normal. I am reminding myself that if I have to be diagnosed, this is the best stage to be at.  I don’t know what any of the future looks like at this point in terms of procedures and whatnot, but my life and life activities will remain normal from now until I find out otherwise.

11249555_10153192126352643_4912604339828853140_n

On Sunday I went with my work wife’s husband (I have work wives, not husbands!) to the Celtic Music Festival at Sherwood. It was fun, but surprisingly hot given the cool front that came through Texas, so I had to buy clothing to change into. I also got this fantastic piece of jewelry imported from Edinburgh. There is a Scottish family, Hamilton & Young, who own and operate a jewelry company which specializes in traditional Celtic, Mackintosh, Luckenbooth and Scottish Thistle designs.

Here’s the necklace I got from Hamilton & Young at the festival. This is the larger version; mine is smaller and more delicate. AND I FOUND OUT IT WAS OUTLAND INSPIRED. 🙂 Hamilton & Young also have other Outlander inspired jewelry.

outlander-inspired-standing-stones-pendant-with-moonstone-xl-9823-1648-p[ekm]288x274[ekm]

Last week I was also nominated for The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award by Nya @ Nya Reads. Thanks Nya!

 

~ Last Week  on G1000W ~

There is no Top Ten Tuesday post from last week. I couldn’t engage my brain enough to even get one up for the freebie.

 

~ This Week on G1000W ~

  • Monday
    • Review + Giveaway ~ Westly
  • Tuesday
    • Top Ten Tuesday ~ Fall TBR
  • Wednesday
    • WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
    • Feature Follow Friday ~

~ Other Giveaways ~

~ Around Town in the Spotlight ~

There were also some other fabulous posts I stumbled upon…that did not save. 😦

 

15 thoughts on “Sunday Post (September 20)

  1. I’m so sorry about your diagnosis though you’re right about that being the stage to be at. Still anything involving the word cancer has to make it feel like the the world dropped out from under you for a moment. The Celtic Music Festival sounds like such fun and the necklace is beautiful. I image the smaller more delicate version is absolutely lovely. Have a fantastic week!

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your health issues this year. Keep being positive and everything will be all right.

    That necklace is gorgeous. Happy reading!

  3. I’m sorry to hear of your diagnosis, but I’m sending you all the positive thoughts I can! Sounds like you had a great time at the music festival and that necklace is gorgeous! Hope you have a good week!

  4. I am so, so sorry to hear about your diagnosis, I can’t even imagine how frightening that is! But, it sounds like you have an awesome attitude about it, and you’re right- stage 0 is absolutely the best case, if it had to happen. Good for you for being such an advocate for your health! I think a lot of people (myself included!) should follow your example. You’ll be in my thoughts, and I hope you hear some good news soon.

    The festival sounds so fun, and the necklace is absolutely gorgeous! And thanks so much for mentioning the giveaway! 🙂

    • Thank you, Shannon. I try to compartmentalize so I only think about it on four days each year – the day I make my appointment, when they call with the results, when I have to go in for the biopsy and when those results come back – but I got tired of and worried about trying to ignore it (and allow my doctors to slough it) this year. I am very nervous but very hopeful.

Leave a Reply

